A Break-Up Letter to Your Therapist

Dr. Tanisha Brown
2 min readMay 15, 2023

I’ve known quite a few people (myself included unfortunately) who ghost a healthcare provider that they no longer wish to see. Specifically geared towards therapist, allow me to give you a template that I have found helpful for people looking to move on from their therapist.

Dear [Therapist’s Name],

I hope this letter finds you well. I wanted to let you know that I have made the difficult decision to end our therapeutic relationship. I appreciate the time and effort you have put into our sessions, but I feel that our work together is no longer helping me.

While I value the insights and perspectives you have shared with me, I don’t feel that we have been able to address my concerns and make progress towards my personal goals. I have tried to communicate my needs and concerns in our sessions, but I feel that I have not been heard or understood.

As a result, I have decided to seek therapy elsewhere, with a therapist who may be better suited to my needs and who can help me achieve my goals. I hope you can understand my decision and that we can part on good terms.

I would like to thank you for the time and care you have given me, and for the insights and techniques that you have shared with me. I wish you all the best in your future work.

Sincerely,

[Your Name]

--

--

Dr. Tanisha Brown

Hello everyone! Welcome to my page. General dentist here with a passion for writing. I have written screenplays, poems, novels, blogs, and meditations.