#WHYEOSIO: In conversation with Josep Founder EOS Barcelona

Tanish
4 min readSep 10, 2019

--

Josep Rosich is the founder of EOSBarcelona, a one-man team working hard to provide different EOSIO chains with reliable infrastructure. He is very active within the Spanish crypto community and has organized several meet-ups in Barcelona and neighbouring cities. He has a passion for Blockchain technology and has been helping to educate the Spanish community about EOSIO chains and dApplication development.

What attracted you to the cryptocurrency industry? What was the first blockchain project which interested you the most?

I started mining BTC in August 2009. I was working for a consultancy firm, and I had to work during the summer holidays. I was alone in the office as everyone else was on vacation; it was quite dull. My search for different servers and hardware somehow led me to Bitcoin forums. I started reading and eventually installed the miner on my computer. After a few days, I concluded that BTC had no future as I couldn’t understand its future. So I just deleted the software and forgot about it. If you are thinking, I mined a few bitcoin or not? Yes, I mined a few bitcoins.

In 2012, I realised I made a mistake, being occupied with my games startup, never found the right time and motivation to get back to the Blockchain industry. It took me a few more years to fully understand the potential of Blockchain technology.

Where did you first learn about EOS/EOSIO?

In May 2017, I was reading a blog on Medium which suggested a post related to EOS. I was hooked by the potential and the possibilities. EOS was trying to solve many challenges faced by Ethereum with a very practical approach. Aiming better scalability, usability for users, no transaction costs, it all made sense. So I bought some BTC and exchange for EOS tokens. I was already reading about blockchain and exploring the potential for games since mid-2016. But it wasn’t until 2017 that I decided to take a plunge into this space.

Any challenges you faced initially as a BP?

Yes, a few. I had previous experience as a sysadmin, but that was 15 years ago. It was challenging to get back to it.

What were your initial expectations from EOS? (initially, there were standards, compliance and code of conduct, slowly it all vanished) Did EOS stand up to your expectations as a BP?

I was very disappointed about the change of the bp-standby pay. Introducing 100 EOS threshold and removing 120 paid BPs impacted many projects. Also, everything related to ECAF was poorly managed and did much harm to EOS PR. Compliance and code of conduct were excellent in theory, but we all have seen that they were worthless without enforcement design.

I am not sure that we are ready for blockchain governance, maybe in 5–10 years.

What made you interested in Telos?

The auto-rotation feature where standbys need to prove they are reliable infrastructure and the auto kick feature. I understand that Telos also brings other things to the table, but as an infrastructure service provider, I am mostly interested in the improvements in the stability of the chain.

How you envision Telos in 5 years from now? What are the challenges ahead for Telos?

New EOSIO projects are launching like every month. Soon, there might be more blockchain projects than dApplication built on top of a few of them. The real challenge is setting up an environment that makes easy to use the blockchain and reduce friction for the regular users.

“Telos should start working that direction, auto stacking resources, light accounts, and lots of templates for dapp developers.”

I think Telos should start working that direction, auto stacking resources, light accounts, and lots of templates for dapp developers. Maybe even have a full team of developers that would help companies developing their projects.

If you had a chance, what’s one thing you want to go back and change about EOS and Telos?

EOS: I am not sure I would change anything from EOS. Doesn’t mean I agree on everything that has happened. But it is because of that, that new EOSIO chains are happening.

TELOS: onboarding dApps. We should have spent like x10 more resources on onboarding dApps from day 1.

Any advice do you want to give to developers to onboard them to Telos? Also, Block Producers?

Telos has a small but engaged community. Deploying on Telos is very affordable, compared with other chains and we are investing a lot in marketing. Hopefully, more resources are going to be invested in better API/History tools and Dapp development in coming days.

EOSIO is a next-generation, open-source blockchain protocol with industry-leading transaction speed and flexible utility.

TELOS The Telos iteration of the EOSIO software leverages the speed and agility of the code to provide its users with high-quality technical solutions to common blockchain problems.

For more information, visit —

--

--