Did my first web-scraping project!

Tanmaydabhade
1 min readMay 11, 2024

I don’t know if this script I wrote classifies as a wEB-ScrAPiNG project, I did use the library used for ‘Web-Scraping’ so I am hoping it does. But enough ‘making it interesting to read’ because we are only interested in code.

So the script I wrote is only half of the project I intend to make this, but it is solving a small problem or, some steps we students face in my university. The script is working on our university’s student jobs portal. Every time when we want to check if a job we want is open we need to go to,

webpage1 → click a link → webpage2 → click a link → webpage3

Although the webpage has good seo, when we search, jobs.(org_name).(uni_domain) it always opens ip the home page or the ‘webpage1’.

I ran a script on ‘webpage3’ to retrieve all the job names, and details. It was simple, I just had to go to inspect, find some specific IDs and Class names and all set.

The tough part was to filter out unwanted strings it retrieved and grouping all the correct set of details and jobs together from that list.

I am still working on learning python libraries, also do not have any idea about how to write a medium post, still learning ahaha!

github link — https://github.com/TanmayDabhade/JobsFetcher.git

PS - Also did not specify any details about the webpages, links and name of my university in this post, but it is all there in the code.

--

--