The Sinister Side of Board Games

Dr. Tanya Pobuda
4 min readFeb 6, 2022

I am a relatively rare kind of scholar. I study board games. There are many, many more academics who look at digital games. Those who focus on tabletop games are much fewer in number.

I don’t regret my academic focus. Board games are an art form, an ancient, entrenched part of global cultures, a powerful way to learn, and a deep and immersive way to connect with others. Board games both merit and reward close academic scrutiny.

While there’s a more significant focus on the toxicity of the video game space, there is not a significant academic focus on the sinister underbelly of board gaming. When I decided to focus my PhD research on the sector, I had barely glimpsed the tip of proverbial iceberg of the issues that delimit, stunt the hobby and sector’s growth and flourishing. I didn’t fully fathom the depth, breadth of the toxicity I would encounter.

Photo by Christopher Paul High on Unsplash

The vile things I have read, and catalogued for years on board game discussion boards haunt me. For any who still doubt that board games has deep systemic problems, take it from a PhD researcher who has systematically read board game fora; the problem is deeply rooted, and highly dangerous to people who work in the sector, or participate in the hobby.

I know this because in addition to my systematic research, I’ve been on the receiving end of the same kinds of…

--

--

Dr. Tanya Pobuda

Board game academic, licensed drone pilot, artificial intelligence chatbot creator, and virtual and augmented reality practitioner.