My Skincare Journey: “The Mistakes I Made So You Don’t Have To” [PART 1]

Tanya
4 min readSep 8, 2023

--

A vector illustration featuring a young woman surrounded by skincare products.
Image sourced from freepik

Hey there, beautiful people! I’m excited to take you on a journey through my skincare experiences, complete with blunders and breakthroughs. I want to share my story so you can make informed choices for your skin.

Exactly a year ago, in August 2022, my skincare expedition began. Picture this: I have medium-dry skin and a knack for not attracting severe acne. But there’s a twist in the tale.

My skincare routine was, let’s say, less than stellar. I didn’t give my skin the attention it deserved. Acne marks had taken residence on my forehead, and while my cheeks and nose remained peaceful, my forehead was a battleground. Let me explain why.

illustration of a girl with pimples and acnes
Image sourced from freepik

Back in the 9th grade (almost 8 years a back), I faced an acne nightmare. It only got worse when I started popping pimples left and right, believing I could conquer them.

Advice #1: Don’t do that! Popping pimples may seem like a quick fix, but it can leave stubborn marks that haunt you for years.

Now, you might wonder what I did next. Well, brace yourself; it’s not a pretty picture. I did nothing. No treatments, no dermatologist visits. My skincare routine? Minimal, to say the least. I’d wash my face once a day, and on sweaty summer days, I’d skip moisturizer. Sound familiar?

Advice #2: If you’re in a similar boat and have oily skin, consider a gel-based moisturizer — it can be your summer savior.

Fast forward to August 2022, I decided it was time for a skincare glow-up. Hours of video-watching and article-reading later, I had a customized routine. I won’t name-drop products here; what works for me may not for you. But if you want suggestions, drop a comment, and I’ve got your back.

A vector depiction of a girl engaged in her skincare routine.
Image sourced from freepik

Starting my refreshed skincare routine, I begin with a gentle face wash, giving my skin a clean slate after facing the world all day.

Next in line is the hyaluronic serum, providing my skin with the moisture it craves, almost like quenching its thirst.

Moving on, I apply an eye cream, my secret weapon to combat under-eye bags that could rival carry-on luggage.

As for moisturizer, I opt for a richer one when my skin feels dry, creating a cozy haven for my face. On oilier days, I go for a gel-based option to keep shine at bay.

Of course, I never skip sunscreen — my steadfast companion in the ongoing battle against the sun’s harmful UV rays.

And last but not least, my trusty lip balm is always on hand. It’s like a skincare superhero for my lips, ensuring they stay soft and hydrated all day long.

Yet, the glow I expected was missing. Why? Well, it was because I lacked consistency and occasionally skipped it out of convenience.

Advice #3: Be consistent. Forget those ‘overnight miracle’ claims; skincare needs time. Trust me; I’ve learned this the hard way.

My journey began with a handful of products, but a few months in, I introduced niacinamide. Spoiler Alert: I later questioned its magic.

#Pro Tip: Keep yourself hydrated not only from the outside but also from the inside by drinking water daily. Make this a habit, and thank me later.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my skincare journey, where I spill the beans on my highly effective skincare routine. But there’s more — discover why I parted ways with niacinamide and the secret to the AM and PM routine. Brace yourselves for twists, lessons, and much more.

Now, I’m turning the spotlight to you. Ready to join my skincare adventure? What’s your biggest skincare challenge or go-to product? Share your thoughts in the comments below; don’t forget to subscribe for more valuable advice and upcoming content from me to your inbox. Your insights might just shape the next chapter of my journey!

Let’s grow together! ❤

© 2023 Tanya Jain. All Rights Reserved.

--

--