Forbidden Attraction

Tanzila Rahman
3 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

We want many things in our life- career, love, friends, freedom, fun, passion, sensations, time, and dreams which we hope to come true, so many possibilities. Even though we know everything cannot be earned at the same time, things fall upon our life according to fate and destiny, our hard work, sacrifice and compromising many things.

One might claim that there is no such thing as destiny and fate, it’s all about hard work! Whereas, another one might claim I wished for something and then it came true like a Cinderella story! Despite everything we have, we still crave for more, something extraordinary, something we don’t have…something our mind restricts but our heart eagers to!

I believe there is a very thin thread tying all the things regarding love, destiny and fate and all the other things I mentioned above. Yes, there are also other things which one must always attract to are forbidden. I, myself, also feel the magnetic attraction to things which are forbidden to me. Things I desire most but cannot achieve due to certain circumstances around me.

Yes, I can overcome the boundaries but will it be wise to do so? Even for a time I consider making that stand and doing whatever I wanted to do, at the end of the day, will I still be happy with the decision I made? Of course, I will ponder about it because I am an introvert and over-thinker, but what about the others? Why some hesitated and some dare to move forward?

All living things have boundaries, even those who are brave and don’t even care about a single cent. People always feel attracted to something they don’t have or cannot be attained. Yet, we long for those because we want to keep ourselves occupied with extra-terrestrial (earthly forms not alien) things.

Let’s head back to the tying thread I was talking about, yes, I believe that everything is pre-arranged and people will do as they are fated to do. Among all these, people will not be satisfied with what they have and always ask for more, hell, I want more too! Especially those which I can’t have in my life or won’t be able to achieve it. Let’s just be realistic, it could be many things, age, community, religious obligatory, background and the list goes on…

Magnetic attraction forces us to go beyond the boundaries which come with a sacrifice, our comforts and safe place or anything close to our heart. Not many of us are strong to do so but for those who do, I wonder whether they made the right choice and living happily as they wanted to be. If they are, I would say they are blessed and for those who aren’t, I pray for them.

Despite, all of these facts, I can’t stop myself, from feeling the need to come out and give myself up to the forbidden desires. As if, I want a barbie doll and my mum won’t buy it, because she can’t afford it, or I didn’t pass my school exam. It does feel childish, but underneath the grown-up body, I am a child somewhere and want to have more.

Maybe, it is the certain peace that I am searching for, or, unexpected joy, even for a short period that makes me complete again, or an appreciation, or hope to look forward, or just anything which makes the forbidden worth every cent.

I want it…………

--

--