Savoring the Romance of Italian Coffee Culture: My Journey to Becoming a Barista (for fun)

Tara Atwood
3 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

Italy is a country that has captured the hearts and imaginations of people all over the world (including myself!), and for good reason. It is a place of stunning natural beauty, rich cultural history, and of course, amazing food and drink. But if there’s one thing that really stands out for me, it’s the coffee culture.

There is something truly romantic about the way Italians approach coffee. It’s not just a beverage to them, it’s a way of life. From the first sip of a perfectly crafted espresso at the cafe bar to the last frothy drop of a cappuccino, every cup is a moment to be savored and enjoyed. And the best part? You don’t have to be a coffee snob to appreciate it.

Walking through the streets of Como, Rome, Venice, or Florence, you’ll find countless cafes with small tables spilling out onto the cobblestone sidewalks. The scent of fresh-roasted beans and the sound of hissing espresso machines fill the air. The ambiance is inviting and cozy, a place to gather with friends, a date, or enjoy a quiet moment alone.

But it’s not just the atmosphere that draws me in. It’s the coffee itself. The flavor, the texture, the temperature — everything is just right. And of course, there are the pastries that go so perfectly with that morning cappuccino or afternoon macchiato. A flaky croissant, a buttery brioche, a rich chocolate pastry…it’s all so delicious.

Living in Northern Italy on the lake and experiencing this coffee culture firsthand was a dream come true. I’ve learned so much about the art of coffee-making, and I’ve discovered some amazing blends and techniques. But even more than that, I’ve come to appreciate the importance of taking time for yourself, of enjoying the little moments that make life so sweet.

Are you ready to brew up some magic with me? In 2023, I decided to embrace my inner barista and pursue my goal of mastering the art of latte-making from my home in Newport, RI. I invested in a gorgeous professional espresso machine and even took a class with a renowned barista based in Portugal (you can find him on Instagram ‘Brewing with Dani’ and his website: Brewing With Dani

The world of coffee is a fascinating one, from where the beans are sourced to the intricate process of crafting the perfect espresso shot. And don’t even get me started on the art of steaming milk! As I create each latte, I find myself lost in the process, the gentle hum of the machine and the soothing sound of steaming milk becoming almost meditative.

My love affair with coffee began in Italy, where I discovered that coffee is more than just a drink. It’s a way of life. From mornings spent sipping cappuccinos at a café to late afternoons savoring an espresso shot, coffee is woven into the fabric of Italian culture. And now, I am thrilled to bring a little bit of that magic into my own home.

My go-to latte recipe is a creamy iced oat milk vanilla latte that is perfect for any time of day. Here’s how you can make it at home:

Ingredients:

  • 1 shot of espresso
  • 1 cup of oat milk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • Ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Brew a shot of espresso and let it cool for a few minutes.
  2. In a separate container, mix together oat milk and vanilla extract.
  3. Fill a glass with ice cubes and pour the cooled espresso over them.
  4. Pour the oat milk and vanilla mixture over the espresso and stir gently.
  5. Top with whipped cream if desired.

And there you have it! A delicious and refreshing iced latte that will transport you to the mountains of Northern Italy!

Tara Atwood in Newport, RI

--

--