My Experience as a Woman in Tech: Challenges, Opportunities, and Advice

Tara Dwyer
5 min readApr 15, 2023

The tech industry has experienced significant growth in recent years, with new advancements and innovations emerging every day. Unfortunately, despite this growth, the industry has been criticised for its lack of diversity and inclusion, specifically when it comes to gender. In this article, I will share my personal experience as a woman in tech, including the challenges I faced, the opportunities I discovered, and the advice I have for other women entering the industry. Despite the obstacles I encountered, I found that there are many opportunities for women in tech. With the right support and resources, I believe more women can succeed in this field.

STEMINIST written above science images
STEM Girl

Challenges Faced by Women in Tech

Women in the tech industry face numerous challenges that hinder their success. One of the most significant challenges is stereotyping and bias. Women are often stereotyped as less technically proficient than men, which can result in biased hiring and promotion decisions. This bias makes it difficult for women to advance in their tech careers.

Another major issue is the lack of representation and inclusion of women in tech companies, especially in leadership roles. The underrepresentation of women in the industry makes it challenging for them to find role models and…

--

--