The Blood Run

A Poem (2020)

Tara Gupta
2 min readNov 14, 2020

I once just was a quiet girl

I held my head up high

When arrows came right at my face

I dodged to let them by

But pent up pain just dealt a mask

And told to run and hide

Becomes a madman poker game

Devoid of all insight

The blood run is a moonlight dance where angels become crows

The blood run is a second chance where friends turn into foes

The blood run is a necromance

Where the body counts just grow

The blood run is an ugly rant of dangers no one knows

One night I was walking through dreams

And saw a group of three

With vivid faces and big horns, they said

We are not your enemies

We Welcome you to the blood run

Just walk right through this tree

And there you’ll find a place where you can set your wildness free

The blood run is a moonlight dance where angels become crows

The blood run is a second chance where friends turn into foes

The blood run is a necromance

Where the body counts just grow

The blood run is an ugly rant of dangers no one knows

I climbed right through that gnarled tree

I climbed right through that tree

I saw the people running free

Their legs stretched out loosely

I took my head and spun it out

So I also felt that free

And started laughing out so loud

So uncontrollably

The blood run is a moonlight dance where angels become crows

The blood run is a second chance where friends turn into foes

The blood run is a necromance

Where the body counts just grow

The blood run is an ugly rant of dangers no one knows

--

--