Why Chasing Perfection Will Leave You Empty Inside

--

Perfectionism is a lie. A shiny, seductive lie that promises fulfillment but leaves you feeling empty and exhausted. If you’ve ever stayed up late tweaking a presentation or obsessing over minor details, only to feel drained and dissatisfied, you know exactly what I mean.

Female office worker thinking
Photo by Mizuno K: https://www.pexels.com/photo/female-office-worker-thinking-12911259/

When I started my own business, I thought perfection was the key to success. I spent countless hours trying to perfect every aspect, from the website design to the tiniest details in my social media posts. And the truth is, I had no idea what I was doing most of the time (and still don’t), and striving for perfection only amplified my stress and self-doubt.

My Battle with Perfectionism

I’ve always been a bit of a perfectionist. Growing up, I was the kid who color-coded my notes and freaked out if there was even the tiniest smudge on my homework. I thought that if I could just get everything perfect, then I’d finally be successful, happy, and able to relax. But, guess what? That never happened.

Tired of feeling like a hot mess? It’s time to feel like a hot success! Because you deserve to thrive, my friend.

Claim your free 30-minute initial consultation to secure your spot in my Hot Mess Overhaul Coaching Program. Book now — your hot success awaits!

I’ve been wanting to start my own business for a while now, always having that idea tucked in the back of my mind. But I also had all of these doubts and concerns about how to do it because I’ve never done something like this before. I worried about every little detail — what if I made a mistake? What if things don’t go as planned?

The fear of imperfection held me back, making me question whether I was even capable of pulling it off. But eventually, I realized that waiting for the perfect moment or having a flawless plan would mean waiting forever.

Then, sometimes life has a way of forcing you into action. My back was up against the wall, and I knew I needed to leave my 9–5 job. The stress and dissatisfaction had reached a tipping point. I had no choice but to take the leap.

And that pressure became the catalyst I needed to finally start my business. It hasn’t always been smoot sailing, but embracing the uncertainty and imperfections along the way has taught me more than I ever imagined.

Learning to Let Go

Starting my business was like jumping off a cliff and constructing the parachute on the way down. There are days when I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing, and sometimes the urge to make everything perfect has been overwhelming. But I’ve quickly learned that in the world of entrepreneurship, perfection is the enemy of progress. The more I tried to perfect every little detail, the more I realized how much time and energy I was wasting.

Don’t let overwhelm hold you back! Discover the magic of effortless productivity and reclaim control of your time with my online course, “Effortless Productivity: Master Time and Conquer Overwhelm.”

Enroll now and embark on a journey to a more balanced, fulfilling life!

One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned is that done is better than perfect. I had to let go of the need to have everything figured out before taking action. Instead of spending hours obsessing over a single Instagram reel, I started focusing on getting my message out there and connecting with my audience (hey you, thanks for being here btw😊). It has been scary, but the more I let go of perfection, the more progress I’m making.

Embracing Imperfection

When I launched my first online course (check it out here), it was far from perfect. I cringed at the minor errors and the things I wished I had done or said differently. But to my surprise, my audience didn’t care about the imperfections. They appreciated the value I provided and the authenticity of my efforts.

I’ve been adopting the mindset of “good enough.” This doesn’t mean that I’m settling for mediocrity, but rather I’m recognizing when something is sufficiently valuable and functional. For instance, instead of spending weeks working on my website design, I launched it when it was good enough to serve my clients. This allows me to focus on what truly matters — helping my clients (a.k.a. you) and growing my business.

Overcoming Perfectionism

If you’re battling perfectionism, here are some strategies that have helped me, which might help you too.

  • Focus on the Big Picture: Instead getting bogged down by minor details, keep your eyes on the overall goal. Ask yourself if a small imperfection really matters in the grand scheme of things. (Hint: More often than not, it doesn’t.)
  • Set “Good Enough” Goals: Establish what “good enough” looks like for each task or project. Define your criteria for success that meets your needs without being overly demanding. This helps you move forward without getting stuck in the cycle of endless improvements.
  • Embrace the Minimum Viable Product (MVP) Mindset: Focus on launching an MVP. The MVP is about getting your idea out there with just enough features to satisfy early customers. This approach allows you to test your concept, get feedback, and make improvements without being bogged down by the need for perfection.
  • Limit Your Options: Sometimes having too many choices can paralyze you. Set constraints for yourself to avoid overthinking and endless revisions. Simplicity can lead to better outcomes.
  • Limit Revisions: Give yourself a set number of revisions for any project. Once you hit that limit, move on. This prevents endless tweaking and helps you stay productive.
  • Focus on the Journey: Enjoy the process of creation and learning. Celebrate small victories and milestones along the way. When you focus on the journey rather than just the destination, you find more joy and satisfaction in your work.

Living Beyond Perfection

Life is beautifully imperfect, and that’s what makes it so enriching. Embrace your journey, with all its ups and downs, twists and turns. Celebrate your growth, your resilience, and the unique path you’re carving out for yourself. Every challenge you face and every mistake you make are stepping stones to becoming the person you are meant to be.

When you let go of the need for perfection, you open yourself up to a world of possibilities and experiences that are far more rewarding. You start to see the beauty in the process, the joy in the journey, and the value in each moment. Trust that each day you’re becoming a better, more fulfilled version of yourself.

So, take a deep breath, let go of the impossible standards, and step into the freedom of living a life that’s wonderfully, beautifully imperfect.

☕Like what you read? You can now buy me a coffee to show your appreciation!

I’m Tara Kermiet, and I’m a strengths-based productivity and success coach. I help busy millennials who feel like they’re barely holding it together and have lost sight of themselves. With my DREAMS Framework™, I provide personalized coaching to turn your hot mess into a hot success. If you’re overwhelmed by your workload, struggling with work-life balance, or just need to find your way again, I’m here to help you reclaim control and achieve your goals. I offer the following services:

🤩 Free content through my blog, Instagram, YouTube channel, LinkedIn, and Medium articles. Follow me and say hi when you do!

📰 Free inspiration and insights through the weekly Hot Success Newsletter. Get one tip, three free resources, and five bonus nuggets every week. Sign up on my website!

🧠 Online courses so you can learn strategies on your own time, at your own pace.

🤝 1:1 coaching and accountability through the 3-month Hot Mess Overhaul Coaching Program or standalone coaching sessions tailored to your specific needs.

📅 Online workshops & webinars for more targeted guidance.

--

--

Tara Kermiet | Personal Growth Coach

Overwhelmed go-getters come to me when they want to keep it together as a balanced badass so ‘How was your day?’ doesn’t trigger a meltdown.