Challenge Yourself Every Day

Tara Massan
5 min readAug 6, 2018

If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you. -Fred DeVito

We all want to do better deep down, but making this happen can be another story. That’s where it gets sticky. Our to-do lists are ever growing, and it can be difficult to imagine doing something different, when life is busy and hard enough.

Let’s backtrack to the initial quote: If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.

Maybe you’re like me and one of your biggest fears is waking up 3 months from now, or 2 years from now, and having life look exactly the same. The thought of this happening brings chills to my bones and makes me want to get out of my chair and stop writing this.

Change is hard. And self-imposed challenges can be easy to think of, but to do the nitty gritty hard work and get uncomfortable, that’s a whole different story.

When my step-father passed away from cancer…

I wanted to do something in his honor, but I wasn’t sure what to do. I knew there were a lot of great charities to donate to in my area and plenty events to attend, but they didn’t make me excited or necessarily appeal to my desire to do something in his honor.

A few months after he had passed, I set a New Year’s resolution: I was going to run my first…

--

--

Tara Massan

I’m your average Minnesota quirky yoga instructor, personal trainer, nutrition coach, mother and wife — with some big dreams and ambitions. taramassan.com