Future of Smart Homes and Smart Assistants

Taras Terebkov
2 min readNov 3, 2018

--

the photo is from wikipedia

Maybe later than everyone else, I finally start to see the arrival of text-to-speech multiplied by voice cloning. And deep fakes video is coming in as well. Let’s combine it with the huge trend of smart speakers from Amazon, Google etc. Now imagine feeding it all with one-or-eight hours of audio records, and we can have our houses talking to us with a voice of our deceived fathers, critical mothers who we desperately seeking approval from, our exes or future significant ones. You will be able to record secretly your high school crush or take your favorite movie character. You can do George Clooney for god’s sake! I would pay $9 per month for the opportunity to listen brilliant Mr. Clooney reading my morning Twitter feed for me.

This future could be frightening a bit for some people. The technology could be overused by others, especially who have got specific mental health conditions. But on the other hand, it would be just another tool for us and entertainment industry. Famous people might be selling their avatars, granting specific permissions with the list of topics and areas they are ready to represent. And less famous people will be naming avatar’s beneficiaries in their wills.

Have a good and simple day today)

P.S.
I deeply apologize to my mother who I love very much and who supports 99.999% of my decisions)). I did the statement above purely for the sake of argument and as a joke.

--

--

Taras Terebkov
0 Followers

Started programming at 13. Never doubted what to do in my life ever since. Blessed to work in technology industry and create new experiences for people.