Feeding Your Starved Ego

Tara Lee
Aug 6, 2022

--

Yes. It’s 4 am, and I’m awake.

Restless.

Unsettled.

My mind is churning…

with distress, regret, confusion, grief…

just the kind of thing that feeds your ego.

Does hurting others give you pleasure?

Does it make you feel desired?

Wanted?

Loved?

Does leaving another with an intense sense of loneliness make you feel powerful?

Is your soul so empty that you are compelled to suck the life out of others in order to satisfy your own warped needs?

The Kind You, the Creative You is just an illusion, a fantasy, a delusion.

The “Good” You, the Charming You, only shows his face long enough to seduce his prey.

The Real You doesn’t know anything of love or kindness.

You just take prisoners…

and then you spit us out when we no longer serve your needs.

--

--

Tara Lee

I am an adventuring mom and nurse, finding my way back to vitality, power, and peace after a brush with insanity and death. I write for healing and connection.