The One Ring

tarat
2 min readMar 18, 2024

--

“One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.

I was recently reading “The Hobbit” and it got me thinking about the magic ring that Bilbo finds in the caves beneath the misty mountains.

If you are one of those people who still haven’t watched the movie or read the book yet, let me set up the stage for you.

Bilbo Baggins, a Hobbit, goes on this crazy adventure with a group of totally random dwarves. At some point during his adventure, he stumbles upon this magical “One ring” which makes him invisible upon wearing.

I was reading the book and it got me thinking “Wouldn’t it be cool if I had a magic ring that could make me invisible too?”

I mean I just wanna experience invisibility for a few moments. I wanna know how that would feel. I wanna use that invisibility to disappear and detach myself from my surroundings whenever I want.

Sometimes all I wanna do is just disappear for a moment.

Tbh disappearing is different from being invisible but then again it all depends on your definition of invisibility.

For me, Invisibility is being unseen in a social environment.

And if I work with this definition then I do have that magic ring.

In fact, I think have more than one magic ring lol. I have a lot of them.

I use one ring every morning when I’m traveling from my home to the office. I use the other one when I am traveling in the metro and there’s one that I use when I’m feeling anxious or angry at someone.

I am using one of those rings right now as I’m writing this article.

Physically I am sitting outside on a random seat in the office near the pantry but since I am wearing the ring right now, no one can see me.

There are so many people walking around me and some people are sitting right in front of me, some to the sides but not even a single one of them can see me right now.

I am invisible.

--

--