An Adventurous Trip to Charna Island: Cliff Jumping, Boating, and Tea Mishaps

Tariqz
5 min readMar 15, 2023

--

Photo by Michael on Unsplash

“Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before.”

Basically, traveling is enjoyable when you have good company, which means friends. People also like to travel alone as solo travelers. But this kind of traveling gives a life-changing experience more than enjoyment. Either way traveling is beautiful.

This trip was something I was always looking for. I was looking for a good company which took me several weeks to arrange.

The night before the trip, my friend, Ali told me that he had reserved three tickets for a trip to Charna Island, in Pakistan.

On the morning of the trip, we arranged our necessary items like trousers and T-shirts for the trip.

The weather was also favorable. We woke up early in the morning and rode a bike to the spot where the trip organizer’s vehicle was supposed to pick us up.

It was early morning, so I insisted on having breakfast before we continue the journey.

There were several restaurants, but they were all too expensive for our budget. Slightly ahead on the corner, we found another restaurant whose prices we could afford. Hence, we had our breakfast with an omelet, paratha, puri, and a complimentary cup of tea for each three of us.

A bus came and we all took our seats on it.

Here we began our journey, it was two hours of traveling and another hour from the land to Charna Island.

Since it was the weekend, there were many people who booked this adventurous tour. The organizer hired a bus for us. On the bus, the instructor told us about the safety rules on the Island to follow. He was giving instructions while standing at the front of the bus.

So, those of us who were in the back seats could not hear him clearly. Further, the instructor stretched the instructions for half an hour. A boy from the back seats said loudly, we can’t even tolerate our teachers for that long how can you think we are following you? We in the back seats burst out laughing.

Along the way, we encountered beautiful mountains, among them were the beautiful villages consisting of simple huts I realized how simple lives they might be living away from the troubles of city life. I too belong to a village and I know how it feels to live such a simple life. I could recall how we as kids used to look after the farm. As he was passing through the farm, my uncle used to lend some bread to each of us at the farm. He used to bring grocery items for his small shop in the village and we were all waiting for him to cross the farm and give us some bread.

We reached a village called Mubarak village from where Charna Island was about an hour of traveling on a boat.

There in Mubarak village, Ali told me that there the most difficult part of the adventure was cliff jumping. I told him this was no big deal and I could do that easily. He had actually been there before us so he had a lot of experience.

After some photo shooting in the village, three small boats took us to deep water where two large boats were waiting for us to carry to Charna Island.

We reached the island. From the boats, the cliff appeared very easy to jump. We all climbed it with the help of a ladder. As we approached the top of the cliff, one by one people began jumping into the water. When my turn came, I could remember how I backed off three times before jumping. From the cliff, the height appeared great to frighten me. Ali teased me very much. I had jumped twice from the cliff last time said Ali. But this time as he came forward so he backed off. I did not know how the last time I jumped twice. This time, it frightens me too opined Ali.

Eventually, I jumped, but Ali did not. A boy beside me told his friend that only two of you boys are left to jump. If Ali jumps, you have to jump too. I burst out laughing again. I hooted and encouraged Ali to jump and after a lot of insistence, he actually jumped.

Then came the time of wearing goggles to be able to look into the water. Beautiful small fish were swimming in the water. This was something new for all of us to experience. We enjoyed it a lot.

There we had lunch on the boats. After a few hours of adventure, we returned to Mubarak village. And got on the bus to drive back to our homes. On the way back home, the organizer offered us whether we would like to have tea or coffee. Everyone agreed on tea. Everyone went behind the organizer for tea.

As I said, Ali was visiting the island for the second time so he was leading two of us for the tea too. We stopped at the restaurant but did not see anyone from the entire group in the restaurant. It made us suspicious. Yet Ali ordered all three of us tea and paid for all three of them. later on, we returned to the bus but did not find anyone there. I had this thing in mind that the organizer was more like he was implying that he would pay for the tea so if the people are not on the bus, where they might be then.

Then I realized they had gone upstairs. So, we followed them. We found that many of them had had tea or were having it. So, I went to the organizer and said we came late and did not have our tea. He ordered tea for us too. After this, three of us were mourning the loss of paying for tea by ourselves.

Eventually, we arrived back home exhausted.

Thanks for reading.

If you liked reading it, could you please buy me a coffee?

I would highly appreciate it if you could clap for me.

--

--

Tariqz

Not a mentor. Grab ideas you like, leave the rest. Don't forget to comment my work to encourage me.