Unexpected Food Delivery: A Tale of Confusion and Generosity

Tariqz
2 min readFeb 28, 2023

--

Photo by Joshua Lawrence on Unsplash

Around 12 am I was mentally preparing to sleep. I heard my home bell ring. I got up and went to see who was there. There was a food delivery from Food Panda.

The order was not mine because neither I nor anyone in the house ordered it. I asked the delivery boy what was in the package and he said it was a Chicken Mayo Roll.

Again, I asked him to confirm the address and he gave me the signs of my address. So, there did not seem to be any mistake with the address.

However, I could recall the planning that my cousins were making in the afternoon about ordering food today. So, I called him and asked about the order. He said yes it was his order with a voucher.

However, I took the order without correcting the delivery boy’s mistake and paid him for it.

My cousin called me back and said “I have given more such orders so please if anyone rings your bell let the boy know about my address.”

There did not come any other delivery.

The next day I met my cousin and he said there were guests in his home. He had ordered the food for them, but in addition to the order I received, he had also ordered two more Chicken rolls which Food Panda ended up canceling. This led to a bit of a scene. He did not receive his food while he was hungry and I received one while I was full.

Thanks for reading.

If you liked reading, could you buy me a coffee? It’s alright if you can’t right now.

Alright, could you clap for me then?

--

--

Tariqz

Not a mentor. Grab ideas you like, leave the rest. Don't forget to comment my work to encourage me.