Zero to VR: Day 4- The Tortoise and the Hare

Madi Taskett
2 min readMar 24, 2017

--

As I’d warned you in Day 3, I was very busy outside of learning VR today. One of the keys to picking up a new skill or a new habit is to do it every single day, even if that only means working 15 minutes. Those 15 minutes add up!

So in true tortoise beats the hare spirit, I did something today.

  • I added the concrete bottom bases, using cylinders for the top part of them.
  • I used a filet tool to round off the top of the base, then added a cube below it.
  • I also lengthened the top bars, as I looked up a picture of an arch and it looks like they extend farther than I thought.

My next steps are:

  • To make the top black part of the arch curve inward like in the picture below, and add a couple more details that are missing in my arch now.
  • Then, I’ll need to find a texture for the bottom concrete section to make it look correct.
It’s obscured in my reference photo, but you can see the inward curve on the top black section here.

I didn’t move mountains today, but it’s a step forward.

This weekend’s VR schedule

I’ll be traveling to Japan and doubt I’ll have much time to spend diving into C4D, so I’m going to do something a bit different. I’m going to chat about my daydreams for businesses using VR in the future, and extrapolate on the differences between VR and Augmented Reality. I’ll see you then!

--

--

Madi Taskett

Ex-marketer traveling while making one cool thing for humanity each month. Most recent product: http://instaseeker.com IG http://instagram.com/taskettmadison