Zero to VR: Days 7 & 8- Grouping Objects in Cinema 4D

Madi Taskett
2 min readMar 30, 2017

--

Day 7: Small Touches to the Arch

It was another busy day today and is, again, 1 in the morning. So today I simply added two small cylinders under the top red beam and then on top of the lower red beam I used two more booles to create the inverted arch on the two red decorative pieces there.

So it looks like my arch is about done! Tomorrow I’ll make this one cohesive piece so that I can copy it and make the other arches in the picture more easily.

Day 8: Connect Object

Do you know what a broken record sounds like? I think it sounds an awful lot like, “I was really busy, it’s 1 am, so today’s C4D is going to be short!”

Yeah. That. But hey, I’m in Tokyo for only one week! And it’s cherry blossom season!

So instead of doing C4D, I’m taking pretty photos of cherry blossoms. Sorry not sorry.

Okay so I am trying to connect all the pieces of this arch to create one cohesive arch.

I tried highlighting all the pieces and selecting “connect object” but for some reason it only connected the two top cylinders and the top black beam.

So instead of choosing “connect object” I just highlighted everything and copied it. The right way to do things? Probably not. But it worked!

But now everything is messy on my right sidebar. So I looked around online and it turns out I can select everything, right click, and select “group objects” and that’ll create one ‘null’

So I did that, and I created three arches to match the picture, as you can see below. Also, you can see that I’ve grouped the arches so that they are three objects. Much easier this way!

However, the size of the arches, in order to match the photos, got smaller. And the arches are also raised as they go back in order to match the photo. In real life, this wouldn’t happen. I am wondering if this is going to mess up a virtual display of my photo, and if there’s a way to fix it. Tomorrow I’ll look into this issue.

See you then!

--

--

Madi Taskett

Ex-marketer traveling while making one cool thing for humanity each month. Most recent product: http://instaseeker.com IG http://instagram.com/taskettmadison