Do My Thang

Taylor Nettles
2 min readMay 3, 2016

--

Miley Cyrus

If you do not know this song then your first impression might be, “spelling errors right out of the gate” or “Oh… Miley Cyrus, this should be interesting.” If that is you, please continue reading. I chose “Do My Thang” as the theme song for my life because I saw more to it than just Miley going through her whack phase of life. Consequently, when I watched Quentin Tarantino’s movies, this song came to my mind because the female characters he created model independence by their fearlessness, confidence and drive. Their thoughts and acts of independence were easy for me to relate to and connect with the independence Miley Cyrus is singing about.

I have learned that depending on yourself turns out more satisfying than depending on others and Miley agrees when she sings, “So don’t you worry ‘bout me, I’ma be okay.” Mia Wallace, from Pulp Fiction, can agree with this as she is neglected by her mafia boss husband. Her husband sends his employee to take Mia on a date because he is preoccupied with work.

Two strong personality traits I possess are dedication and drive, which I believe go hand-in-hand with independence. I have life goals that I work hard to pursue. Miley says, “Only thing we think about is turning up, turning up,” and all I think about is my path to success and making the most of the journey. In The Hateful Eight, Daisy Domergue possesses these characteristics as she stays dedicated to her gang’s plan, which is to free herself and get he rest of her gang out of the Haberdashery alive. Even though things do not go as planned she stays driven the entire time and never shows weakness.

Miley sings about how she does not let other people’s opinions dictate her life choices. I relate to this, not in the poor life choices Miley has recently made, but in the way that I do not let other people’s opinions compromise or influence what I want to do. People cannot control your happiness; they can only influence it. Life consists of trials and tribulations; you have to stay strong and get through the storm in order to receive the sunshine that follows. We all deal with these highs and lows in life, but we don’t all share the mindset that Miley preaches in her song, “I’ma shoot em down baby.” It’s all about perspective and having faith that you can do your “thang” and anything else you put your mind to.

Thank you for taking the time to explore my portfolio and all the hard work that has been put into it. I greatly appreciate it.

--

--