A lot can happen between now and never

Taylor Noel Horst
3 min readMar 26, 2024

I come from a background of self-malnourishment. I used to look at other people’s lives and tell myself that I could never have or achieve what they did. And I don’t mean specifics, like their exact job, life, car, etc. I’m talking more about financial stability, life purpose, happiness, and love, to name a few.

Those things seemed so far from what I was experiencing in life that I labeled myself incapable of achieving anything close to it. To me, that type of life would never be my reality.

I would never have more than $500 in my bank account.

I would never drive a car that didn’t continue to have problem after problem that I couldn’t afford to fix.

I would never find someone who loved me.

I would never be an author.

I would never get out of small town USA and experience the world.

I would never this and never that.

But the other day, as I sat at my desk, thinking about some of the different goals I would like to achieve over the next few years, I realized that I am living a reality that, at one time, I never thought was possible for me. So naturally, I began to think about how I got to this place I never thought would exist.

And the brilliant answer I came up with is that a lot can happen between where you are now and where you think you will never be.

How? Because there is a lot of time between now and the infinite never.

And the beautiful thing about time is that it can be manipulated with choice and action, the two most important materials needed to build the bridge from now to one day.

Part of building that bridge also comes down to mindset and self-worth. If your mind constantly tells you that you don’t deserve something, you’ll feel like you don’t deserve it. And because you don’t feel worthy of your vision, you won’t choose to take the purposeful action to get there.

To get to places I never thought I would be, I chose to join the military, hire a nutritionist, go to therapy, increase my financial literacy, improve my aesthetic and style, and learn how to build meaningful connections with others because you won’t get anywhere by doing nothing.

You can’t build a bridge to where you want to be unless you roll up your sleeves, grab your hammer and nails, and start building.

Trust is the other material needed to build the bridge between now and one day.

You can’t see the future. But you can predict how it will end based on your actions and choices.

And here’s the other thing that I want you to remember.

Your limits are 99% self-imposed.

You don’t know what you can achieve until you find the courage to try.

And once you find the courage, the rest is about keeping the vision, trusting the process, and taking action. That’s it. That’s how you build the bridge and turn “never” into one day.

Because you can have a life you never thought you could have. That’s the other thing I want to remember. You deserve a life filled with everything you tell yourself you can’t have.

And if you question that, you’re not alone. Because, at one time, I was in the same boat.

But you don’t have to stay on the boat to neverland forever. You can decide to go somewhere new. All you have to do is find the courage to leap into the boat that will take you to someday.

And that choice to act can change your entire life story.

So when you’re looking around thinking that you will never have a life different than what it is. Just remember that a lot can happen between now and never.

Develop the vision. Take action. Trust the process. You got this!

--

--

Taylor Noel Horst

Your life transformation BFF I'm an author, coach, poet, and creative writer who loves writing about life, becoming, healing, and lessons learned.