Luigi “Gino” Motta: The Italian Multi-Enthusiast

taylor richards
4 min readApr 14, 2015

--

link to the video

GLASTONBURY, Conn. — Fifteen years ago, Luigi “Gino” Motta opened Salon Viso, a unisex salon on Main Street in Glastonbury.

The salon is unassuming from the outside with just one small sign and window, but the layout of the inside is Motta’s way of showcasing his personal style. Half-pillars lie at the wall breaks, marble tiles fill the floor, and a minimal wood desk sits next to the main entrance.

“Appearance is important to me,” said Motta in his slight Italian accent. “I want everything around me to look good. I just spent a lot of money on buying new leather chairs for everyone.”

According to Motta, his interest in personal aesthetics influenced his decision to become a hairdresser. He also enjoys fashion and dressing well; wearing a button-up shirt, cuffed skinny jeans, and leather sneakers.

“I bought these shoes at Diesel the last time I went to Manhattan. I like to go there to shop for clothes,” said Motta.

Motta also has other hobbies outside of his workplace, like cooking and collecting wine.

“I have a wine cellar in my basement completely filled with all kinds of wine,” said Motta. “I actually have two. The first one I built was too small for all of [my collection], so I had to build bigger one.”

Motta’s family moved to Hartford in the mid 1970s from Priolo, Sicily. His father owned a restaurant in the tiny Italian city and passed on not only good business-running skills to his son, but a love for cuisine as well.

Motta lives in Cromwell now with his wife. He often invites his two daughters and other friends and family members over for dinner parties. He loves experimenting with pasta and risotto dishes, as well as making various fish dishes.

His Italian roots are also shown in his everyday work environment. The name “Viso” means “face” or “visage” in Italian. While waiting for his next client last Wednesday afternoon, Motta watched videos in Italian on his iPhone behind the front desk. Rather than having a standard coffee maker, there’s an espresso machine in the middle of the salon.

While enjoying a multitude of different hobbies in and outside of work, Motta says that first he’s committed to the salon he opened on his own.

Motta was 42 years old and tired of what he called mistreatment he and his colleagues faced working at their previous salon.

“There were many problems at the old salon I worked at. Group issues would get blamed on me,” said Motta. “When I found this location for lease in the town I already worked in, I knew it was the time for me to do it.”

According to Motta, he did all the work opening Salon Viso under his name. It wasn’t until he signed the lease that other stylists at his old salon realized he was serious, and followed him to the new location. Now whenever Salon Viso needs a new stylist, Motta will post an ad in a local paper. According to Motta, when hair stylists move to a new salon, they usually have followers that will go to a new location for them.

Now, Salon Viso is a constant bustle of customers: “Appointments usually get filled every week, since me and the other stylists have a lot of loyal followers,” said Motta.

According to Motta, he doesn’t have any long-term plans in terms of management for Salon Viso, since he’ll be retiring in a few years.

“Even though I’ll be retiring soon, I still get excited every day to come back to work. I love what I do.”

--

--