Oyewale Tayo
2 min readAug 7, 2021

How I Got Into TIIDELab Fellowship Cohort 3

My name is Oyewale Tayo Olamide a software engineer Fellow at TIIDELab.

This is the first time I am giving writing a go and I am still trying to learn how to put my words into writing..
It all started when I received a congratulatory email from TIIDELab on 26th of June 2021 at exactly 7.16pm with the subject “ congratulations! You Made It “

congratulations Email from TIIDELab

I was so excited that night because the previous week I received so many rejection mails from many other things I applied for and I was on the verge of quitting this software development journey.

Let me quickly walk you through the interview process so you know why I am excited to have been accepted into this program. I got to know TIIDELab in one of the WhatsApp groups I was in 2020 , I applied like everyone else, did the online test and got 76%, I got an email saying I can proceed to the next stage which requires doing a mini project. I got to the last stage and I was invited for a physical interview in Maryland mall, but unfortunately I wasn't selected for the cohort 2.

Prior to then I have been learning web development on my own using the resources I get online, but my learning journey is not structured and I struggle with what to learn and how to learn, that was when I figured what I needed is a formal training, mentorship and guidance and that was why I signed up for TIIDELab.
Back to my story of how I got accepted for the third cohort. I applied again this year did the online test, did the mini project which was designing a landing page for a cleaning company and submitted a 3 mins video stating why I should be considered for this fellowship. The final stage was interviewed on zoom . The interviewers were friendly and I was relaxed during the interview process and that was how my journey to self reliance began.

I will like to stop here and will be back to write about my first month in TIIDELAB.
Thank you so much for reading. Please connect with me on social media

LinkedIn

Twitter