MY TIIDELAB EXPERIENCE 1.0

Oyewale Tayo
3 min readAug 7, 2021

--

Hi there !

I told you all I will be back to talk about my first month at TIIDELab fellowship.

The program kick started on the 7th of July 2021 with the induction ceremony led by the program coordinator Mr. Shamsudeen ADEROJU after which the time table for the five months program was shared and I knew we were in for a ride.

The curriculum is well structured and TIIDELab is not just training us to be a developer , they are also equipping us with the right soft skills to be a sought after developer.
In the first week of the program we were introduce to Git which is a version control system that allows lot of developers to work collectively on projects and simplify the process of working together.

Second week Mr Saheed Adepoju, a UK based Senior developer at NVIDIA took us through the process of interviewing, job hunting, the skills needed to get a good job in IT and how to increase our chance of getting more interviews. He also showed us how to optimize our LinkedIn profile.

Mr Alogba Alogba from MP Ecentral solutions explained data structure and algorithm and why it is important to not just write codes but write codes that are scalable , memory efficient and fast.
Every first , third and fourth Fridays are physical meet up days in Lagos and Abuja where fellows are exposed to different soft skills like problem solving skills, team building and how we can be an effective communicator.

In one of the meet ups the founder of TIIDELab Mr Salami Kadir spoke to us about why it is important to document the things we do and show case our work. One of his words that I hold to heart is “ Fear is not your enemy , fear is your friend”
The last two weeks of the month we were exposed to advanced Html and Css and I have been able to used what I learnt to build my portfolio website which is hosted on Netlify here. Its a work in progress and I will keep on updating the portfolio as I learn more in the coming weeks .

I will like to drop the pen here and will continue writing about my experience in the coming month.

I want to use this medium to appreciate ITF-NECA Technical Skills Development Project for sponsoring this fellowship.
Please Connect with me on social media LinkedIn Twitter

Until next time

--

--