My Mentor, My Father

Tayyaba Saleem
3 min readMay 26, 2018

--

Having a mentor is more than an opportunity. A true mentorship is one filled with emotional investment — a desire in the mentor to see their knowledge manifest in another, and an ambition from the student to take each lesson to heart. In a true mentor ship the student learns and grows at a rapid rate, which is fulfilling to them, and the mentor sees a reflection of themselves, allowing them to further develop as they review some of their earliest lessons and challenges.

I have been blessed with Great Mentor, My Father. he is actually my greatest mentor, he did not tell me how to live, he lived and let me watch him to do it.

My father sacrifice many things in his life for me

No other person has has the impact on me as my father. He is the man i wish i could be. He is honest, fair, steady, and giving. I have never heard anyone say a bad word about my father. He treats everyone with respect. we are very close. We talk often and the conversations go deep. He always guides me, slowly, carefully, and softly which is the only way I can be directed.

I am only a daughter, everybody ask him to get second marriage for son. but he brought up me like son. he supported me in my education, career and in my whole life. he is a first person who always agree with me to move forward. he always encourage me and push me to achieve goals. i never used public transport to go for my education and other activities. he serve me as a driver whenever and where ever i want go. i am thankful to Allah for such kind of father i have. he pray for my protection, success, career and my life.

I learned lesson from my father:

  1. The meaning of respect, both giving and receiving
  2. To work hard for the things you want
  3. Never Have expectations, and you wouldn't be disappointed
  4. Life is really what you want it to be.
  5. Make someone smile be polite, friendly and treat people well
  6. Always be a gracious host and make people feel welcome in your home.
  7. Faith and believe on Allah
  8. He taught me that education is everything, and that if I wanted to achieve anything in life, I could.
  9. Try again and again to get achievement, don’t be disappointed.
  10. Be kind, always think good and do for others.

I spend precious time with him and tell him how much he means to me. I will thank to him for what he has provided and sacrificed for me. I will do my best today to make my father proud.

I could not go through a day without recognizing his influence on me. His philosophy, his words, his beliefs, his approach are a part of who I am today.I love you. Thank you for what you have done in life, what you have given me, and the deep character you have instilled in me.

Thank You

--

--