Fidel(ity)

tbillsimpson
4 min readAug 2, 2018

--

Fidel/Che/Elizabeth/Dad

Fidel the handsome

Charismatic

Cuban

Dictator

Died

Today

I thought he died

Years ago

Funny when

People you thought were dead

Die

Some people say good things about

Fidel

He freed the

Peasants

Educated the Cuban people

Gave them cradle

To grave

Healthcare

Others say he was just another of your

Run of the mill hell-bent for leather

Despots

Jailing

Torturing

Murdering folks

Who made fun of his beard and

Called him a lot of phony

Baloney

I know some people say good things

About me even while

Others claim I’m a real

Horse’s ass

But hey it’s nice to be considered

Either way

Indifference and

Anonymity are such a

Drag

I received news of Fidel’s death

On my iPhone

While sitting in the pediatrician’s waiting room

With my eldest daughter

Who was feeling less than fabulous —

She loves to feel fabulous

All the time

Anything less

Than fabulous

Dissolves quickly into crisis —

And so we sat at the doc’s

With tummy ache

Headache

Maybe a little heartache

And quite possibly a didn’t study for my

French test

So don’t really want to go to school

Ache

Fidel Castro died

I tell her

Who

She asks

The Cuban revolutionary

Compatriot of Che

Avowed Marxist

Committed to making all humans

100% equal

Can you imagine such tripe

Never heard of him

She says

Lot of Cubans probably

Wish

They’d never heard of him

I say

Elizabeth

Calls the nurse

A pretty Hispanic girl

Standing in the doorway

In her blue scrubs

In we go

To the exam room with the Cat in the Hat

Motif the

Cool laidback

Doc

With the eastern European accent and the

Classic handlebar mustache the

Doc my wife likes best of the

Four docs in the practice maybe

She dreams of

Bedding him while he

Whispers in her ear in

Hungarian or

Albanian or

Whatever Slovak

Language he speaks hey I dream

Too

Handlebar

Does the exam

Throat

Nose

Ears

Chest

While asking how we’re feeling today

Not so great

I say

Ok

Elizabeth

Says

She’s always telling

Mom and me she doesn’t

Feel good

Not like she used to feel

When she was a

Kid

Nothing of course but

Anxiety

As she moves

Slowly

Exhaustedly

Reluctantly

From

Kidhood to

Adulthood

No easy chore

Anymore

Being a twelve year old

They know too much

Understand too little

All that relentless crapola

Unfiltered

On their electronic devices

I’m glad I didn’t have to be bombarded with all that

Horse

Shit

Well

Says the Doc stroking his

Handle

Bar

Throat’s clear

Nose clear

Chest sounds clear

No temperature cheer

I give her the all clear

Can she go to school

I ask

He looks at Elizabeth

Looks at me

Give another stroke to that luxurious

Handlebar

And says it’s a beautiful

Autumn day

Sun shine

Warm air

A father and his daughter

Now it’s just my professional opinion

But I think Elizabeth

Would be better off

Having a long walk

And an even longer talk

Over a long lunch

In a fancy restaurant

With her dad today

Instead of sitting in some stuffy old school room

Learning next to

Nothing about

Geography and

Chemistry

Daydreaming

That’ll all still be there tomorrow

Elizabeth smiles big and

My old paternal heart

Goes pitter patter

On the way out I say to the doc

I’m not even sure why

Fidel died today

Fidel died

He asks

I nod

He pauses

Reflects

Then says

I lived in Cuba

(Coo-ba not

Q-ba)

After I got out of medical university

In Sofia

I did a residency in

Havana

On a pediatric unit

Castro used to visit

Walk the wards

Stop and squeeze the shoulders of the sick

Children

Bend down

Take their little hands in his giant

Hand the size of a

Catcher’s mitt

And tell them

His dark eyes as big as moons

La vida es una lucha

Life is a struggle

If you want to survive

You must fight

You must fight

Fidel would tell them with all your

Might

And with all your

Heart and with all your

Life

Until the moment

Fidel would lean in and

Whisper

Until the moment of

Death

--

--