The Book Lover’s Tag

Bindu Madhav
3 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

I have been seeing this tag post everywhere and I thought I would give it a go. The inspiration to write this dawned on me only after reading Reema D’souza’s blog post, which I enjoyed reading. If you ask me the why question, well, I was all set to write something but was not sure what to write. Writing about reading is always the best when you love reading more than writing.

Here it goes..

  1. Do you have a specific place for reading?

Not specific, but I prefer reading while sitting in a chair and a table to keep my books and tea on. I can’t read while travelling in a cab or a bus as it gets me dizzy. Coffee shops and restaurants which has beautiful ambience and less crowds have been the best to sit and get my nose buried into a book.

2. Bookmark or some random piece of paper?

I’m not used to bookmarks but I’ve a habit of collecting them. I generally dog-ear my books (only if I own the book. I prefer using a random piece of paper if the book is borrowed) if there is a specific quote which I loved or for some marvellous descriptions by the author. Please don’t judge me for dog-earring stuff.

Hello Common Man!

3. Do you eat or drink while reading?

I drink while reading on kindle. If I’ve to eat, I put my book or kindle aside, out of harm’s reach. I cannot imagine the blasphemy of spilling out on books.

4. Music or TV whilst reading?

Is it even possible to watch TV while reading? Unless someone switches it ON, I prefer to be at peace and quiet when I have a book in hand. I switch between listening to music and reading a book quite often while I read.

5. One book at a time or several?

Never tried reading more than two books, one fiction and the other a non-fiction, at a time. May be, I should try reading many at once. After all, life is an experiment.

6. Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

Home and places where I can sit and read at peace. In Bangalore, I opt Atta Galatta to home. Being surrounded by book shelves around is entirely different thing than to be surrounded by mess.

7. Breaking the spine or keep it like new?

The only book I remember breaking the spine was of my Chemistry text book of grade 11. Never after that.

8. Read out loud or silently?

I still remember the days when my teachers asked me to read out loud at school. When asked for the reason, they told me that reading out loud helps us remember stuff. Chucking that, I read aloud when I’m alone and read silently when surrounded by sapiens.

9. Do you write in your books?

Yes, I do. In my own books again.

10. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I sometimes skip reading the descriptions of a setting or a place or when the description gets a bit too much to bear. Never skipped an entire chapter though.

11. What books are you reading now?

I am reading two books.

Fiction: “Still Alice” by Lisa Genova, where the protagonist suffers with an early onset of Alzheimer’s disease

Non-Fiction:10 Judgements That Changed India” by Zia Mody.

Hey Doggo!

Dear fellow Bibliophiles, consider yourself tagged and share your eccentricities which I would love to read and hear out to!

--

--