WP2: A Deeper Understanding of Walk-ons

Theo Bravos
7 min readMar 9, 2024

--

In the highly competitive world of college sports, an often overlooked, undervalued, and disrespected group are the walk-ons. These athletes go through the same struggle, pain, and time commitment as scholarship athletes. When I think of my time being a walk-on, I think about the tenacity, determination, and ability you need to perform a “thankless” job for your team. We join Division 1 Football programs without a scholarship or sport promised while having to keep up with our athletic and academic demands while once again receiving little to no recognition.

I want to understand what the walk-on culture is like at other football schools. I contacted 10 Division 1 Football walk-ons through social media, who answered the questions to my survey anonymously. The survey was distributed evenly between five regular walk-ons and five preferred walk-ons. Preferred walk-ons are offered a spot on the team as recruits, just not a scholarship spot. Regular walk-ons must get into the University independently like regular students and try out for the team. The overall goal of this project is to dive even deeper into the lives of my fellow walk-ons and find the underlying themes and consistencies in their experiences with mine and their own.

This survey is formed through twelve questions about their feelings about team integration and their personal and academic growth in a squad. While a small sample size may limit this, we will find intriguing results that will help us understand more about college football's circles and inner circles.

Introduction

On a scale of 1–10, how integrated do you feel with your team?

Results: 6, 7, 7, 5, 3, 5, 2, 8, 9, 4

The data revealed a difference in the feeling of integration within teams and the differences in years between the ten athletes. The scores for integration range from three to nine. Similarly, the academic status of the walk-ons spanned from freshmen to graduate students. This data aims to set a baseline for us to understand the early differences between these athletes. As we progress into decoding this, we will further understand what makes the difference between the athlete who feels like a three and the one who is a nine.

Personal Growth

In what ways has your status as a walk-on contributed to your personal growth?

“I’ve developed a strong work ethic as a walk-on.”

“I’ve become more adaptable, learning to fit into different roles as needed for the team.”

“It makes me have a chip on my shoulder. I want to prove people wrong.”

I found in this data that those with higher levels of participation in team activities outside of practice appeared to have increased feelings of personal growth, as athletes noted improved adaptability and work ethic. The data suggest that the team's bond is strengthened in practice and games and having genuine connections with your teammates away from the sport, especially the walk-ons.

Participating in events outside of practice was a big emphasis for USC Football last season. We would have brotherhood events every week where we talked about our lives and go to movies together, top golf, and dinner. Having those outside activities helped tighten the bond for all of the players, you could really feel a sense of belonging being formed.

Mental Health

How has your role on the team affected your academic performance and social life?

“I am way better at time management, but I can’t go out late with my friends because of early morning lifts.”

“No social life except for the weekends.”

“Being a walk-on is stressful sometimes, but my grades have improved.”

The survey highlighted that 70% of the athletes questioned feel stress and/or anxiety due to their position and status on the team. The responses also pointed to a lack of serious mental health support from athletic programs. This calls into question the overall approach for student-athletes mental health, especially for walk-ons. From personal experience, I know that programs talk about caring for mental health, but there is a difference between talking about doing something and acting on it.

From personal experience, I relate deeply with that 70%. The lack of time for anything other than your sport really takes a toll. You have to choose between being a good athlete, being a good student, or having a social life. The stress from assignments and the sport comes in waves, as soon as you feel you've caught your stride, you'll be blindsided and have to completely regroup or fail.

Recognition and Support

What are your biggest challenges as a walk-on/preferred walk-on athlete?

“Never being noticed by the coaches.”

“Honestly, not anything. I like to chill and not worry.”

“The lack of support compared to scholarship players.”

Fighting for recognition plays a role in any athlete's journey, maybe even more so for a walk-on. The data shows recognition from coaches and fellow teammates is a driving force behind their motivation and dedication. In college sports walk-ons put in effort without the security of scholarships or playing time. When coaches acknowledge their work, it not only motivates them but also validates their importance within the team. Sadly, according to the survey, there is an extreme lack of that. The athletes may feel disheartened and struggle to find their place without recognition, making their demanding and thankless journey even more daunting.

I know from personal experience my actions and triumphs were rarely acknowledged by coaches. Towards the end of my time as an athlete, I started to realize I could get away with missing meetings and mandatory meals because I was a much lower status than the other scholarship athletes. They would not take accountability for us, not that we really needed it, but it was almost a bittersweet feeling. It was cool not to go to the meetings, but at the same time, you really think to yourself, “Damn, they really do not care about me at all.”

Do it all over again?

Would you choose the same path (walk-on, preferred walk-on, scholarship) if you could start over? Why or why not?

“Yes and no. The lessons and bonds I have made make it worth it, but the mental health struggle hits too much.”

“No, the lack of recognition and damage to my mental health is enough.”

“Yes, because it has taught me so much about myself.”

These quotes reflect precisely how I feel about going back as well. Part of me misses the sport, my teammates, and my friends that I made, but the other, more reasonable and logical part knows that I deserve way better than how I got treated by some of the people on the team.

The Future of Walk-ons

What changes would you like to see in how walk-ons and preferred walk-ons are treated within your program?

“More recognition and opportunities for walk-ons to earn scholarships.”

“More respect for the walk-ons from the coaching staff.”

“Fair treatment for the walk-ons.”

The findings from this survey only scratch the surface of what being a walk-on truly means. It’s almost impossible to imitate and fully show the experiences and sacrifices these athletes have gone through through a short survey. The strenous journey, the challenges, and the triumphs are building blocks for their character and their future. We have begun uncovering layers within collegiate sports through the ten athletes who responded to the questions. To be this breed of athlete is to be overlooked and overworked every day, and we are revealing the personal growth, mental health struggles, and the “chip on your shoulder” mentality.

Even with this small sample size, I hope this research analysis has jump started a more profound discussion and shed light on a walk-ons role and life in Division 1 Football. Questioning ten or one thousand walk-ons would remain the common theme of their collective resilience, determination, and desire for mutual respect within their programs.

What do I want the future of being a walk-on to look like? I want it to be not one of embarrassment, pain, anxiety, and all those negative emotions. I want it to be a future where we can ensure that all recognize the legacy of the walk-on athlete. I hope the sports world realizes and can remove its unwavering facade and see that the walk-on athlete is integral to the essence of collegiate sports and every team. This exploration serves as a call to action for all people within college athletics to look within their organization and put time into respect for all athletes, regardless of their scholarship status.

Unlisted

--

--