School Districts Across Southeast Michigan Endorse Governor Whitmer’s Budget Recommendations

LANSING — More than 35 school boards from Wayne, Oakland & Macomb counties have passed resolutions to formally endorse the budget recommendations put forth by Governor Gretchen Whitmer. The resolutions, passed in recent weeks, all speak to the importance of moving away from Michigan’s outdated one-size-fits-all school funding formula and toward one that addresses the unique needs of each and every student.

“Our school board members are as excited as as my fellow educators and I are about the opportunities that Governor Whitmer’s budget will create for our schools and our students,” said Eve Kaltz, TCA Secretary/Treasurer & Superintendent of Center Line Schools. “We know that status-quo budgets won’t cut it for our schools anymore and Governor Whitmer deserves a lot of credit for putting a bold, new plan on the table that will benefit every single student across Michigan.”

The Tri-County Alliance for Public Education (TCA) has endorsed Governor Whitmer’s budget plan, including her proposal to raise Michigan’s gas tax to provide the additional revenues needed to enact her school-aid plan. TCA has said it will welcome alternative budget plans from the legislature that meet the same goals and principles of Governor Whitmer’s proposal. Specifically, any budget TCA would support must include new revenues that don’t pull from other programs our communities rely on, remove higher education from the School Aid Fund and allocate that money through a research-based weighted funding formula.

“Putting money into a fundamentally broken funding formula hasn’t made sense for schools in years and we finally have a plan in front of us that would put an end to that,” said Dr. George Heitsch, TCA President & Superintendent of Farmington Schools. “This is a critically important moment for the future of Michigan’s schools and I’m proud that so many of our school boards have chosen to step up and say that the direction that Governor Whitmer is looking to take is the right one for our students.”

The districts passing resolutions include:

  • Allen Park Public Schools
  • Avondale
  • Bloomfield Hills Schools
  • Center Line
  • Chippewa Valley
  • Clarenceville School District
  • Eastpointe Community Schools
  • Farmington Public Schools
  • Ferndale Schools (pending final vote)
  • Garden City
  • Gibraltar School District
  • Hazel Park Schools
  • Huron Valley
  • Lincoln Park
  • Livonia Public Schools (pending final vote)
  • Macomb County School Board Association
  • Macomb ISD
  • New Haven Community Schools
  • Oak Park
  • Oakland Schools
  • Oxford Community Schools (pending final vote)
  • Plymouth-Canton Community Schools
  • Redford Union
  • Richmond Community Schools
  • Riverview Community Schools
  • Romeo
  • Roseville Community Schools
  • Southfield
  • Southgate
  • Utica Community Schools
  • Van Dyke Public Schools
  • Walled Lake
  • Warren Consolidated Schools
  • Warren Woods
  • Waterford
  • Wayne RESA
  • Wayne Westland Community Schools (pending final vote)
  • West Bloomfield (pending final vote)
  • Westwood