Films To Be Buried With Podcast

Joey Dee
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

The vast majority of podcasts out there, for the most part, are very similar in formula. You have a couple of hosts and, depending on the subject matter, they will discuss and breakdown their chosen field of expertise. Wrestling, true crime, product reviews, interviews etc. it’s all very similar.

Now, I’m not saying this is a bad thing. I spend a HUGE amount of my time listening to a variety of different podcasts because I love the long conversation-style format. But every once in a while I come across something a little unique. Something with structure, a format and a theme. Films To Be Buried With, in my opinion, is exactly that.

The show is hosted by Brett Goldstein, a UK actor & comedian who you will recognise from the Ricky Gervais series Derek, as well as the 2015 UK indie film SuperBob. The premise is simple; he invites guests on to the podcast and tells them that they are dead! They then begin to tell the story of their life through the films they grew up with, and those which played integral parts in their life via a selection of set questions.

Before I go onto the questions, something struck me about Brett as I was writing this up. So I decided to ask him…are you indeed an angel? You know the participant is dead, but you always ask them why. So surely you must be doing some ‘admin’ type work for the big man. His reply? ‘Who am I

--

--

Joey Dee

I write about Mental Health, Wrestling, love, life and all things unknown. Positive vibes only.