What Book Did You Get Entirely Lost In?

Mine was “Where the Crawdads Sing”

Trish Church
2 min readMay 11, 2024

Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl, became my heroine. I cheered for her, I struggled for her, I wanted to be her.

Photo by Julia Caesar on Unsplash

I wanted to be her, which is remarkable, considering I don’t possess her survival skills. But reading that book, I was her; I could live off the land and survive with the bare essentials.

Isn’t it amazing who we can become inside a novel? The way we can transform ourselves into these different beings.

Who sits in their comfortable home and wants to live in a shack in the marsh?

Powerful writing takes us there and makes us think we are that strong.

Have you ever read a book you couldn’t wait to get to the end of, but when you got there, you were sad and didn’t want it to end?

What book pulled you inside and turned you into the main character?

I would love to hear about your favorite books. It might also be something I want to get lost in.

--

--

Trish Church

I love to make people smile and laugh. I decided this would be a good time to pursue my dream of writing and learn some things along the way.