Twitter’s Logo Design

Tierra Flowers
1 min readFeb 26, 2019

--

This article written by KATHARINE SCHWAB on the process of twitter’s logo design was very interesting to me. It gives me hope that I could be in the same position as Grasser when I get out of school. Twitter’s logo designer was only out of art school for three years before he received the deal to redesign twitter’s logo. The little blue bird known as Twitter’s logo was designed with fifteen circles. Grasser said that he had 24 different versions of that one blue bird. It shows me how much goes into branding design and how many revisions it may take for a customer to truly be satisfied. The twitter logo is so simplistic that I would have never thought it took so much work to create. As a student wanting to pursue a career in logo design and branding, I can say that this is definitely an inspiring story and gets me excited about the future that is ahead in logo design.

Although, twitter is now known as a social media outlet for trash talkers and inappropriate content, twitter’s logo was made to represent freedom of speech and democracy. I can see what the designer means by the way the birds mouth is open and its body language says “freedom.” Any person of any race can get on twitter and freely say whatever they want, and Martin Grasser did a great job communicating those things through his twitter logo design. It shows that there is a meaning behind every good design.

--

--