Tips for Passing the Coding Interview

More Than Just Your Technical Skill

Thu Dinh
5 min readSep 9, 2022
Photo by Leuchtturm Entertainment on Unsplash

A summary of some unwritten rules for passing the coding interview.

These tips focus more on the non-technical side of the interview. You will see why sometimes this is even more important than your technical knowledge.

Some background: I did most of my DSA studying in three months and passed two FAANG interviews (which I wrote about here). I also conducted multiple interviews and did some coaching.

(In retrospect, I should have done more interviews to get more competing offers. But my current job is super cool and I’m loving it here, so it worked out in the end.)

If you are looking for technical advice, check out my other post.

Standard Approach

The interview is 45-minute long and usually consists of two questions. Here is a rough breakdown of the process:

  • 5 minutes of introduction
  • 20 minutes per question
  • A few minutes to ask questions to the interviewer

And the interviewee can address each question in the following manner:

  • Read the problem
  • Clarify the question
  • Come up with a…

--

--

Thu Dinh

Research Scientist @ Meta - PhD in Mathematics - Life long learner - Avid teacher