Why I Stop Reading Self-Help Books

Henry Nguyen
1 min readFeb 7, 2020
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

Yes. I have already read a lot of self-help books with excellent advice, but they don’t help me much. It doesn’t mean the self-help books aren’t good.

I realized that the self-help books only help when I TAKE ACTION. By taking action, self-help advice will be useful. So, what I need to focus on is not just reading, it is DOING.

The key point is DO IT, DO IT NOW. That is how I help myself.

For example:

“I want to be a writer”. I can’t be a writer by reading self-help books without writing even a sentence. So, I start to write something on Medium. This post is my first post on Medium. I did it. I know my writing skill isn’t good, but I am proud of myself. I am still better than people who just read and do nothing. I believe that my writing will be better when I write more. I already DID IT and I have to DO IT MORE to help myself.

I am keeping it up with my second post.

--

--