Walk out the meeting like a BOSS!

Darrion M. Willis
4 min readMar 5, 2016

--

Darrion M. Willis

I’m a 26 year old Entrepreneur, Dancer, Author and English Teacher. I hail from Washington, D.C. I’ve had many jobs in my life and recently discovered that I’m pretty good at getting job offers. 95% of the jobs I’ve interviewed for granted me a position. I’ve held various positions in the financial, education, and political fields.

I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth so I still had to prepare and work my tail off to perfect my new skill. So here are some tips that you can use on your next job interview.

  1. Speak confidently and clearly.

I know that most of us walk into an interview nervous as hell but it’s common. You need to ensure that what you say is understandable and sounds true (like you mean it). You want everything you say sound true and the tone of your voice shall reflect how high your confidence is.

2. Always be prepared to answer all questions.

Some employers will send you typical questions they may ask you. I would totally take a glance at them and keep it moving. We all know what employers will ask you: “Why do you want to work at (company name)?”, “What are your strengths and weaknesses (a question I hate with a passion), BLAH, BLAH, BLAH. What you need to do is be prepared to answer basic questions like that and also “curve ball questions” that has nothing to do with the job your applying for. This one interview I went on, I was asked a question “If you had to pick a flavor ice cream, what would it be and why?” Like really dude? I answered the question but it was irrelevant. This is what you have to put up with but no worries. Also, avoid “filler” words like “um”, “uh”, etc. This gives an impression that you didn’t come prepared.

3. Smile.

I feel like with all of my experience and credentials, had I not smile, I wouldn’t been offered a job. Sometimes I go into a meeting on “cheerleader” mode; full of energy, charisma, and positive vibes. But don’t overdo this like you just came in from taking drugs or something. Smile throughout the process, give excellent eye contact (don’t half ass this, they will know your not serious), and have great posture.

4. Give reasons why you’re the best candidate for the job. Period.

Even if they don’t ask you “Why do you think your the most qualified candidate for the job?”, you still must insert moments where you express your passion, interests, and core strengths that you will bring. I’m always telling employers I have a can-do attitude, I work very well with others (as they may see this with my “cheerleader” personality), and other strengths I bring to the table. Don’t walk out the door without them knowing your core reasons.

5. Drop Knowledge (or Drop “Bars”).

READ MY LIPS: Don’t ever walk into a interview looking like a rookie. Come in there with facts and impress employers with your knowledge of the field and company. You can also suggest how they can move in the right direction. Employers love innovators. Regardless of the title people have, you must still enlighten them that you have a brain too. I look at it as politely taking control of the interview. Job Applicant 1, Employer 0.

6. Breathe. Take your time.

This is not a race so do not feel rushed. As I said before, Speak clearly and confidently. Slow and steady wins the race. But if you’re too slow the employer may become bored.

7. Resume

Make sure you can back up everything you wrote on your resume. Your resume must be clear and easy to read. No more than two pages. You can also provide a reference page as well so employers can contact people on your behalf (that can vouch for you).

8. Dress like a BOSS.

Long story short: walk in that office like you’re about to be the new CEO of the company your applying to. Perception is everything, so you might as well dress your ass off (professionally though).

Most of my resume and job interview preparation was with my college career services department (University of Vermont). You guys don’t understand how many times I had to revise my resume. In the end it was all worth it.

Hopefully this helps. If you have questions about resume/job interview preparation, I would love to help you. You can email me at DarrionWillis89@gmail.com.

--

--