Tea Culture of the World: Sencha and Imperial White

Anubha
3 min readJul 11, 2017

--

As I mentioned in my last tea post, I am quite fond of trying out new teas. However, when it came to green tea, it had always been something I cringed my nose at, often thinking of its bitter aftertaste. I never thought I could enjoy green tea until I tried the Sencha tea last weekend from the Tea Culture of the World tea box. I wondered why people chose to drink it everyday as a religion, and sometimes even silently mocked them for doing so in the name of health or fitness :D I realised I was wrong when I took a sip of the Sencha.

I’ll be honest here, it’s the colour of the packet that made me pick it up, it looked just so refreshing! So despite the fact that it mentioned green tea at the back, I felt like opening it anyway.

And sure enough, the deep and rich colour of the leaves inside made me feel like I had made a good choice.

It sure worked to make me feel a bit uplifted as I expected it to. It had a better effect on my mom’s friend though, who had come to visit just around that time. After I served her some Sencha tea, she mentioned that her head had been feeling heavy when she arrived but she felt considerably lighter after drinking it. So it can have that effect on some I guess.

The next day, I was in the mood for some indulgence and I picked out the most expensive tea in the box, the much famed white tea :)

I remember tasting this tea at a Darjeeling tea shop cum restaurant. It felt like very expensive hot water :P Jokes apart, it did carry a subtle and very evidently rich taste but it just wasn’t something my tongue was accustomed to then, and after tasting a few teas there, I also wasn’t able to enjoy the experience of the white tea properly. Coming back to my experience of it this time —

First of all, the choice of colour for this tea packet is rightly sophisticated :)

This is how the tea leaves appear:

Although the packet mentioned a delicate jasmine flavour, I found the whole room smelling of it. It was a pleasant experience overall. As I mentioned earlier, this tea did have that subtle, rich flavour and the fact that it had the essence of jasmine made it far more palatable.

White Tea was had! :)

I am in the mood for Rooibos next, post will come up soon! :)

--

--