Taking Breaks & Riding Waves

Tea the Yogi
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

--

La Jolla Shores 2017

I am starting to explore what it means to take breaks.

It’s something I never thought I’d need to do as a kid…but now that I am in middle school, I get it. We move so quickly, the world is happening around us so rapidly, and sometimes we just need to take a break.

After a busy 2017, I am now exploring what it means to rest and make choices for myself based on what my heart is calling for.

I was eating toast in the bathtub the other day and thought to myself: why is it that “taking a break” has become something we have judgements around?Having balance is the true recipe for success: a little play, a little hard work, and a little rest.

I have given myself a bit of space from teaching yoga as I am settling in to middle school.. which is FILLED with waves of change and obligations. As I reflect on my summer last year, I remember balancing out the hours of yoga and lecture with surfing into sunsets, bouncing with the salty, healing waters of San Diego and feeling gratitude for the learning, playing, and resting.

It is through the metaphor of surfing the waves that I think about life’s lessons of change and balance. We ride the waves, trust in the ocean’s rhythms, soften into the sunset and try to completely surrender when wiping out.

So I invite you to take a restful moment, imagine yourself to be like water and to flow with the waves of change that are an inevitable part of being human.

I am continually amazed at what I am learning as I continue to discover and accept all of the things that challenge me, ride the waves that life brings me and take space to create new dreams and visions to build on the ones I have brought to fruition.

Thank you for helping me manifest my dreams by creating the space for yourself to dream, rest, play and of course, to ride and flow with what life presents you with. Never forget: it’s okay to take breaks, it’s okay to rest, and part of catching the perfect wave is wiping out a few times first.

Click here to check out my vlog documenting this epic journey on Youtube

Follow me on Instagram Tea the Yogi

❤, Tea Sloane

--

--

Tea the Yogi

Tea Sloane is a 12 year old, Bay Area-based yoga teacher, who has dedicated half of her life (7 years in total) to her practice.