Yoga Teacher Training Musings with an 11-year old

Tea the Yogi
2 min readSep 14, 2017

--

Anatomy: Wait..so the funny bone isn’t a bone?

Philosophy/Yoga Sutras: Yoga explores dual AND non-dual realities (which is very confusing).

Sanskrit: Pizzasana; Snapchatasana; just add a’sana and you’ve got a sanskrit name for a yoga pose!

How to cue a’sana poses: Just make an L with your left hand to remember which side is left. Also, messing up is okay because we are human and we mess up sometimes! By being gentle with myself when I mess up, I can teach others to do the same.

Restorative Yoga: Zzzzzzzzz.

Prenatal Yoga: Always remember: pregnant women shouldn’t do savasana/final resting pose on their backs, but instead on their sides. I also learned that the baby is pushing on everything in there!

Kundalini Yoga: Chanting got me like..Ooooommmmmm! This is one of the few types of yoga that sometimes encourages inhaling through the mouth (rather than the nostrils).

Aerial Yoga: Just hangin’ out.

Vinyasa Yoga: Sweaty Yoga.

Acro/Partner Yoga: Please don’t fart on me.

Sup Yoga: Splash-a’sana.

Overall: Yoga Teacher Training was a great experience.

Thank you to everyone who supported me through it.

On this journey, I have become more aware of my resilience and inner-strength.

Click here to check out my vlog documenting this epic journey on Youtube

Follow me on Instagram Tea the Yogi

❤, Tea Sloane

--

--

Tea the Yogi

Tea Sloane is a 12 year old, Bay Area-based yoga teacher, who has dedicated half of her life (7 years in total) to her practice.