Apology Email of the Day: Water, Water Everywhere, But Don’t Drink the Water at the Cross Country Race

T.E. Bryan
3 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Cross Country Race

Subject: A Thirsty Tale of Waterworks and Wine at the Cross Country Race

Dear Fellow Runners and Event Organizers,

I hope this message finds you all in high spirits, despite the curious and downright comical circumstances that led to an unexpected ending at the much-anticipated cross country race last weekend. Brace yourselves for a tale that can only be described as a series of events fit for the oddest of adventures.

As many of you know, I was entrusted with the monumental responsibility of manning the water truck for our esteemed race. Little did I know that fate had a peculiar encounter in store for me on the way to the event — an encounter that would set off a chain of events stranger than fiction.

On my journey, I stumbled upon a character named Wino Walter, who introduced himself as a spiritual guide with a unique ability: the power to transform water into wine. Naturally, I greeted his claims with skepticism, prompting him to grow strangely agitated. He mumbled a few cryptic words that I can only describe as resembling an incantation from an old movie.

Arriving at the event with my truck of refreshment, I diligently set up water stations along the race course. Chaos ensued when runners began to display rather peculiar behavior — some were picking fights with trees, one was calling someone named “Helen” incredibly crude names, while others suddenly broke into song, belting out limericks that would make a sailor cringe.

At the finish line, the grand reveal took place as a breathalyzer was administered to detect any illicit performance enhancers. In a twist worthy of a farcical comedy, the results led to the disqualification of every runner, save for one — the notorious Bloody Mary, whose penchant for a good drink and an ability to beat any breathalyzer have never been a secret.

Upon further investigation, it was discovered that the water in the truck contained traces of wine, and what I mean by that is it was ALL wine. The bizarre behavior of the runners could be attributed to this curious concoction. As the truth came to light, I realized my unwitting role in the race-day uproar. In an ill-fated attempt to flee the scene, I found myself in an even more embarrassing situation, as my pants became the latest casualty of this peculiar race.

Now, trapped within the confines of a jail cell, my dreams of contributing to a successful race have been dashed. My fellow runners, I offer my sincerest apologies for the mayhem that transpired, and I promise to take more than just a sip of caution before my involvement in next year’s event. Lessons have been learned, pants have been lost, and I’m determined to regain the trust and respect that I unintentionally misplaced.

As I reflect on the ludicrous series of events that led us to this point, I am reminded that life’s journey can sometimes be as unpredictable as a three-legged race with a kangaroo. Rest assured, my commitment to quenching the thirst of runners is stronger than ever, and next year, the water will remain refreshingly pure and uneventful.

Yours sincerely,

Wandering Water Wanderer

TE Bryan

--

--