Zelda with a Dash of Pixar! Kena: Bridge of Spirits

Techburstco
8 min readOct 9, 2021
Concept Poster I made using the game’s photomode
One of the poster concepts I made for fun

I love indie game developers, for they provide a plethora of stories and ideas that major studios tend to overlook. To be candid, I think indie devs help the industry do some active & creative soul-searching. Last year back in June, I watched the PlayStation showcase where Kena: Bridge of Spirits raised a lot of eyebrows; at the time, I wondered, What’s, was the best way to describe Kena Bridge of Spirits? My first thought was,” Oh, so it’s like Zelda with a Dash of Pixar,” and now, after playing it, I think that description still rings true.

Kena also reminded me of the classic action-adventure games back in the sixth generation of consoles. They are often short, with really original & creative concepts, never to see a sequel in the light of day. It told its story, and that was that. But now I feel there could be more to define Kena’s soul origin? To find it, we must look at the brothers that started it all.

Brief History of Emberlab

--

--

Techburstco

An otter who likes video games, pop culture & occasional shenanigans.