Yogi Fest, anyone?

Anais Aguero
5 min readOct 6, 2019

Introduction

Since the 90s, event culture has been rising tremendously. Festivals, conferences, releases, exhibitions, and fairs have transformed into a new shape that changes every year.

Nowadays an event’s digital presence is as important as the event itself — it represents the more lasting testimonial of what happened during those days.

The challenge for this project was to design a ready-to-build website for a festival of our choice that will take place next year. I decided to do my project on the Telluride Yoga Festival that takes place in Telluride, CO.

Pre-Determined Goals

  1. What are the competitors doing that Telluride Yoga Festival is not?
  2. When users are attending a yoga festival what are their needs?
  3. What is the digital presence that yoga connoisseurs are looking for?

Setting the Scope

I based my process on the Five Stages of Design Thinking and complimented it with the Lean UX Design Thinking and Kanban methodology in order to create a great end-to-end experience for the user.

The Actual Research and Discovery

Empathize

I began my process by completing a competitive feature analysis between Telluride Yoga Fest, Beloved Fest and SatNam Fest. This allowed me to highlight where opportunity for design would lay. After successfully completing it I found that the three areas that could use improvement would be sponsors feat, reviews and search.

Feature Comparison Chart

With the insights from the feature comparison chart I completed a market positioning chart, to find Telluride Yoga Fest goal position in a blue ocean in the market.

Market Positioning Chart

Define

With this information I then proceeded to run guerilla style research in order to develop insights on what users thought about the overall product and see if there were possible opportunities of design based on their concerns.

After the completion of my interviews I found that there were some common denominators that users shared.

Top Pains:

  1. Have to jump from one part of the site to the other to plan and register
  2. Poorly organized filters

Gains:

  1. Learn about professors

2. Plan for event they like

3. See classes being offered

Jobs To Be Done Framework

  1. Main Job Story: When purchasing a yoga festival ticket, Yogi Yesi wants to be able to see all the available classes, so that she can decide what package to purchase and plan.
  2. New Feature Story: When purchasing a yoga festival ticket, Yogi Yesi wants to be able to see all the available classes by filtering her options and organizing her options as a guest, so that she can decide what package to purchase and plan.

AHA Moment

Ideation

It was go time for brainstorming and I decided to grab a pen and paper and start jotting down the things that came to mind and expand as much as I could on those ideas.

Moscow Method

I then organized these ideas into an Impact vs. Effort chart using the Moscow Method which led me to my minimum viable product.

Minimum Viable Product (MVP)

I believe that adding a proper filters library, a map for the venues available and a brief card of what the packages include on the scheduling page would aid Yogi Yesi when trying to plan her itinerary for the Telluride Yoga Festival.

User Flow

Here I showed what the current user flow for the desktop app would be. This represented the main scenario of the user which made it easier to then proceed to my Low-Fi sketches with a general idea of where I was headed. The purple rectangles represented the main screens I would include in my sketches.

Low Fidelity Wireframes

After gathering insights on my user research and in depth analysis of the site map of the current events website. I had concluded that I needed to maintain the website as clean and organized as I could. My low-fidelity wireframes were tested by users in order for me to gain insight on what possible bugs could make the process not as clear to navigate through.

Mid-Fi Wireframes

After, completing usability testing for my Low-Fi wireframes it had come to my attention that users did not want the filter pop-ups to be hovering over the words but rather pop-up to the side. When I proceeded to my mid’s I made sure that I fixed that feature.

Hi-Fi Prototype (The Solution)

Although I was able to reach my Hi-Fi for this project I felt that the design could have been more cohesive and clean. I also would have loved to been able to incorporate some actual micro-interactions or animations into the final product.

Conclusion

Overall, this is a project that I enjoyed doing and I am planning on revisiting it soon, so that I would be able to apply changes that I had in mind. Being a passionate yoga aficionado myself this project does hold a special place in my heart. On a side note slowly but surely I am becoming more comfortable with all the UI practices and concepts and although I still have a long way to go this is the beginning to a beautiful rewarding journey for me.

--

--

Anais Aguero

UX/UI Design Student | EdTech Advocate | Aspiring Philanthropist | Environmental Activist | Globetrotter | Miami