My place

Ted Eckhardt
2 min readSep 2, 2015

--

That red oval around the football field, my oval office. Where I have put a countless amount of hours of hard work and dedication to improve myself. To run faster, longer and harder than the day before. Steve Prefontaine said, “To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift”. This gift does not come easy whatsoever. You can go from being ecstatic to heartbroken in a second, making history or shattering dreams. Every time I step out on the track I feel as if I am a different person. The other me stays and waits at the gates of George Gattas, until I have finished the day. The adrenaline rush that pumps through my veins as I strive down the backstretch, the feeling of beating your best time, that’s what makes me love the sport. A second is longer than people think. A single second can change the entire outcome of a race. Every second counts and is vital to success. A single second can drive someone to pure insanity. One second can change the course of if you make history, or are just a small backstory of it. The time that a runner puts in to make himself great comes along with blood sweat and tears. Nothing should come easy, if it did then it does not mean anything. Running takes effort and patience. Even though track is a flat landed sport, it comes along with an emotional roller coaster.

--

--