Damage to the coating of your Mac screen? Repairs available, even if it’s out of warranty

ted
1 min readFeb 24, 2017

--

I damaged my ~2013 Macbook Pro Retina screen a little while ago.

Damaged Macbook Pro Retina coating

Since it was out of AppleCare and warranty, I figured I was stuck with it. But today I saw a 9to5mac article, which led to a MacRumors article, that said Apple is covering this damage. Cool!

I contacted Apple Support. I explained what it was and was put on hold, then was told I’d be paying for it. I pressed that it should be covered. On hold again. Asked where I heard this. Gave the source. On hold again. Told yes, it’ll be covered, so I’d be sent a box to ship it back. There were some further issues with the support system wanting payment even though it will be $0, but it’s all done (no credit card needed) and I should have a RMA box on the way.

Hooray!

--

--

ted

Cat guy. Learning how to improve tech equality. Snarky asshole. Introvert. Often wrong.