Ego Death (The First Time)

Theodore Montclaire
12 min readApr 17, 2019

Chapter 1: From “Altered States — The Memoirs of Theodore Montclaire”

Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

Disclaimer: All characters and events in this work, even those based on real people, are entirely fictional. All celebrity voices are impersonated….. poorly. The following content contains coarse language, crude behavior, and do to its nature should not be read by anyone…

In the summer of 2007 I did a lot of drugs. I was in my early twenties and had just gone through a very rough and ugly breakup with the first girl I truly loved. I was heart-broken and working a dead-end job I hated at a local grocery store, and was saddled with a sixty thousand dollar student loan debt for an education that I didn’t think was worth it. I still lived in a tiny house with my parents, slept in a bunk-bed with my younger brother, and my only glimmer of hope was that the band was going to “make it”. Whatever that meant.

On this particular night, I found myself alone in my car, parked in the front driveway of my house, carefully packing a small pipe with the dark, dried and broken up leaves of a plant called Salvia Divinorum.

Salvia Divinorum is a type of sage that is native to the forests of Mexico and is known to be one of the most powerful psychedelic substances in all of nature. The shamans and indigenous peoples of Southern Mexico had a common practice of rolling up…

--

--