The Man with the Blue Tape — Khai Hutchinson

One of the most valuable aspects of attending the Academy of Art that is often overlook is the art of networking. Just like Simon Ungless met the late great Alexander McQueen while attending Central Saint Martin School of Art & Design, the people we interact within these school walls are often the ones we call upon to collaborate on the creation of art.

Ted Patrick Baird
3 min readMay 26, 2017

In my Fashion Production class last semester, I had the pleasure of crossing paths with a young creative whose quiet, humble nature spoke more volumes than the most talkative extrovert you know. Recently, I sat down with Khai Hutchinson to take a deeper look into his creative process.

You’re one of the busiest guys I know in San Francisco. A lot of people say they’re doing stuff, but you’re really out here making it happen ever so quietly, is that something you pride yourself upon?

(Laughs) You got to. In an industry that is moving so quickly, you have to be constantly creating, networking, and getting out in the field. I have never been the one for big talk. It’s about action. People can say they are going to do this or accomplish that, but only a few actually put the work in needed to get to that level.

Very true. It’s hard to label you as one specific creative, you’re what I like to call, a “juggler.” You have the agency Arkhaives, your clothing line, videography and much more. What’s the process like of managing so many aspects?

When you find something you love you just keep rolling with it. I got my fashion design degree back when I was living in Kanas City. I messed around with film for a bit and in moving to SF I knew I wanted to focus more on that.

It’s a whole process. You can design clothes, but you need to know how to create marketing material, how to creative direct, how to package your brand so the consumer can understand the creative message you’re trying to portray. It’s an ever-changing process. You grow a lot and your direction becomes clearer and clearer. In balancing a modeling agency with my clothing company I have definitely learned time management (laughs). You have to be professional. That keeps you credible.

In looking at your work I’ve noticed you get a lot of inspiration from Raf Simons. Blue tape is a central part of your creative directing and he’s used duct tape before in a collection. Why Raf?

Raf is the G.O.A.T. [Greatest Of All Times]. His influence is present in so many designers today. I don’t even think people realize how prevalent he truly is. He is the reason why the conversion of street wear into high fashion happened. He’s not afraid to rebel and say some political. Instead of words he uses fashion. I think that’s brilliant.

Tape used as a belt by Raf Simons (Getty Images)

What’s next with the clothing line Arkhaives?

I’m prepping for New York Fashion Week in the Fall. I’ll be apart of a group of upcoming young designers. It’s been wild. You gotta turn in looks so early. And so many too! Plus booking models and all the logistics. Definitely getting a real world feeling fasho (laughs). I’m excited to really show the world what Arkhaives is really about.

Khai had to head out as he was preparing for his big move to Los Angeles tomorrow. I wished him well and told him to save me a front row seat at NYFW.

--

--