Teebo123
2 min readJul 30, 2016

My Star Wars “Origin of Rey” Theory

I have some thoughts about Rey’s origin in Star Wars…

Back in 2014, before The Force Awakens was released, I read an article about the plot of Episode VII.

It went something like this:

*******

The movie opens with the standard Star Wars crawl, and when it ends the camera pans up to the stars. But instead of a spaceship zooming into frame we see… a hand! A severed hand, tumbling through space. A severed hand gripping a light saber.

That hand falls onto a desert planet, where it is discovered by characters who will be our heroes. One is Daisy Ridley. The other is John Boyega, who is playing someone trying to change his path in life (again, I’m keeping it vague here). They recognize the light saber as a Jedi relic and decide to return it to the proper people.

Their quest takes them off world, and they meet up with Han Solo and Chewbacca.

*******

Now, I thought this was a joke or something that was made up. Regardless, it seemed a little ridiculous.

After seeing the movie, theories abounded about Rey’s origin and parentage.

All of the theories are plausible, especially the one about Palpatine.

Here’s my theory based on the story synopsis above.

Rey is a clone.

We know that Luke’s lightsaber was found since Maz Kanata gave it to Rey.

If his lightsaber was found, it stands to reason that his hand may have also been recovered.

I think that it is possible that, if his hand was recovered by the Empire, or someone who dealt with the Empire, that it could have been used to create a clone of sorts.

If we briefly examine some of the other theories:

  • I doubt Luke is her direct biological father. He didn’t seem to recognize her when she encountered him at the Jedi Temple.
  • I don’t believe Han or Leia are her parents. Again, neither recognized her when they met.

If neither of the above theories are true, then she is either the daughter of some “unimportant” or as yet undiscovered parents, or the Palpatine theory is true.

If the Empire did create her via a cloning type process, I see it as possible that they dropped her on Jakku with the intent of monitoring her growth and development, or maybe they just dumped her there at a young age because they felt she was a failed experiment.

Either way, Kylo Ren seemed to have a moment in the film where he recognized her. Maybe he knew of the Empire’s attempt to create a clone of Luke.

So, there it is.

I may be completely wrong, but it’s kind of a fun theory.

It would add some sense of explanation to the original, somewhat silly, story line that I had read from back in 2014.

Regardless of if I’m right or wrong, Star Wars is fun and it gets the imagination going, so that’s why I thought I’d share this theory.

It’ll be fun to see where the story leads!!