Continuing my journey to create cultures where people of all backgrounds and genders thrive

Telle Whitney
2 min readSep 11, 2019

--

My passion and commitment are to create cultures where people of all backgrounds and genders are at the table creating technology.

I stepped down as CEO of the Anita Borg Institute in October 2017. The fifteen years of my tenure was extraordinarily rewarding, and I am very proud that the organization reached over 750K people, that the Grace Hopper Conference grew to 22K attendees, and that the organization has a global influence. What made my job worthwhile was the extraordinary people I worked with and the women and men we served.

I often get asked, whats next?

After leaving the Anita Borg Institute, and because of my commitment that all people are at the table creating technology, I joined several boards:

· AI4ALL, a non-profit that creates the next generation of AI leaders

· CMD-IT, the Center for Minorities and People with Disabilities, whose non-profit work with underrepresented minorities and people with disabilities empowers so many people, especially students

· Power and Systems, who works with organizations to create change. Their workshop When Cultures meet is a very successful offering that provides a vehicle to bring groups together, something that matters to me.

· Italent Digital, a women-led consulting firm that creates digital transformation.

· Caltech IST, the advisory board for an inter-disciplinary research center

Over the last 18 months, I have visited several universities and companies, hearing the stories of women and men who want to make a difference. More than ever, I notice the radical disparities between organizations that simply provide lip service to diversity and inclusion and those that are investing in meaningful change.

I remain committed to creating change. I continue to mentor and advise women through my board work as well as through speaking.

I speak regularly at companies, and I am looking forward to speaking at both the Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing and the Grace Hopper Conference Celebration of Women in Computing. Valerie Taylor and I are hosting sessions at both conferences, as a follow up to our IEEE Computer article. My other session at GHC is based on Pratima Rao Gluckman’s book, Nevertheless, she persisted.

My website includes all of my upcoming talks as well as a description of my work. I hope to see you at an upcoming event.

--

--

Telle Whitney

Telle Whitney is a senior executive leader, recognized expert on diversity and technology, Computer Scientist, and entrepreneur. She was CEO of AnitaB.org.