Adeyewa Temiloluwa
3 min readMar 12, 2024

My NYSC Adventure: Camp Experience.

I obeyed the Clarion call.

THE BEGINNING.

My first day in NYSC orientation camp Sagamu was a mix of excitement and nervousness. The sight of hundreds of fellow corps members bustling about, holding files, and joining ques for registration marked the beginning of a three week camp experience that would shape my service year.

At the gate, the Nysc officials checked our load and took away some unwanted items. Then we were taken to register for hostel and got our beds assigned. Suddenly, soldiers stormed in yelling “double up, double up!” They wanted us out of the hostel quickly to start registration, at that moment I knew what I signed up for.

ACTIVITIES

The days at camp were a flow of activities, starting from the sound of the bugle at 4:30 am jostling us all awake and hurriedly getting prepared for the meditation and early morning drill. In camp, our mornings started with “The national anthem” to the Nysc anthem, then finally “The state anthem. The OBS team really did a good job in disseminating information every morning. The man o war made morning exercises fun, with the DJ playing Davido “Unavailable” and “Feel”. Followed by Asake “Amapiano” People who slept throughout the meditation always came alive when the exercises started.

I couldn’t escape the march pass because I wasn’t under any unit in camp. I had to participate in all the march parades. Let’s just say I marched rubbish with confidence, mixing up my left leg for my right. Thankfully, I wasn’t chosen among the marchers.

One memorable part of camp life was the platoon’s activities. My platoon (Platoon 5) excelled in all competitions, from winning the debate to Miss NYSC, parade, and the football final. Other platoons definitely envied us, craving a taste of victory. Well, they’ll have to try harder next time. Oh, wait, there’s no next time.

Still maintaining cuteness after man o war drill.

Sunday was a day, every corp member in camp looked forward to. The never-ending line for Sunday jollof and chicken resembled a fierce rice battle, with contestants vying for the last empty spot in the queue. Then, the empty line when it comes to Eba and Okro.

My hostel was a place of fun, with endless banter between the highland and mainland boys, accompanied by laughter and jokes.

I visited OG bar twice in camp, the place, where big boys and girls flaunted their spending prowess. The nightly dorime battle became the talk of the camp, stealing the spotlight each evening.

I didn’t socialize as much as I had hoped. I kept to myself most of the time. Despite this, I managed to connect with some really cool people both within my platoon and throughout the camp.

Ayo and Blessing. Two beautiful souls I met at camp.

How I despised the 9am-2pm SAED lectures. I found myself dozing off most of the time due to the relentless heat, uncomfortable surroundings, and uninspiring speakers. The continuous “Corper wee chants” only made the lectures more tiring.

Have you seen a cute corper today?

THE END

As the days turned into weeks, and eventually, it was time to bid farewell to Sagamu Camp. The moment arrived to say goodbye to friends and embark on a new journey as an NYSC corper. Let's wait and see what lies ahead in the future.

Farewell, Sagamu Orientation Camp. We will definitely never cross paths again.

Catch you in the next episode of my NYSC Adventure. Till we cross paths again.

Adeyewa Temiloluwa

I put my thoughts into words. Welcome to my inner thoughts!