Mindful Munching Vs Mindless Stress

Confessions of a Recovering Bread Addict

That Ordinary Girl In Lagos
3 min readFeb 5, 2024
Photo by Charles Chen on Unsplash

Let’s talk about the elephant in the room, or rather, the loaves of bread currently residing in my refrigerator. Okay, maybe it’s not an elephant, but for a stress eater like me, sometimes one slice feels just as big.

Here’s the uncomfortable truth: I am a stress eater.

The kind who can finish a bowl of chocolate ice cream in the time it takes to answer a work email gone wrong. The kind whose workstation becomes a war zone after a particularly rough day. The kind who knows, deep down, that emotional munching isn’t exactly a healthy coping mechanism.

For years, my relationship with food and stress was a secret dance in the shadows. Every time I am sad, angry, lonely, under pressure, or facing impossible deadlines, I find myself knee-deep in a bag of chips, slices of bread or bowls of cereal convinced it was somehow “fueling” my anxiety.

Spoiler alert: it wasn’t.

In fact, it just added a layer of guilt and self-loathing to the stress stew already simmering inside. It didn’t bother me because I am one of those people who eat a lot and never get fat.

But here’s the thing: I’m not giving up. This year, I’m breaking free from the stress-eating shackles. And guess what? I’m not doing it alone. I’m sharing my journey with you, hoping that by being open, we can all learn and support each other.

So, what’s a stress eater in recovery to do? Here are a few things I’m trying:

  1. Mindful Munching: Before I grab that “comfort” food, I’m going to pause. Is it real hunger, or am I just trying to numb my emotions? A glass of water and a quick self-check-in can make a world of difference.
  2. Healthy Alternatives: I’m stocking my freezer with real food, and batch-cooking my favourite soups. I am also looking out for stress-busting snacks like fruits, and veggies. Because let’s face it, sometimes you just need to crunch, but it doesn’t have to be chips.
  3. Movement is Magic: Exercise is a well-known stress reliever, and for good reason! I have been told that visiting the gym can do wonders for my mood and cravings, so shall we?
  4. Identify Triggers: What situations send me running to the fridge? Deadlines? Arguments? Once I know my triggers, I can plan healthier coping mechanisms. Maybe a quick Sportify session before a big presentation, or a calming cup of tea before a difficult conversation.
  5. Talk it Out: Bottling up emotions only fuels the fire. Sharing my stress with a friend, therapist, or even you (I’m sure you’re a good listener!) can provide a healthy outlet and prevent emotional eating.

This is just the beginning of my journey, and I know there will be slip-ups along the way. But by being open and honest, and by sharing my struggles and victories, I hope to inspire others to do the same.

We’re all in this together. Let’s ditch the shame and support each other on the path to healthier, happier relationships with food and stress. Remember, vulnerability is strength, and even a bowl of ice cream can’t silence that.

So, if you’re reading this and nodding your head in understanding, you’re not alone. Let’s break the silence around stress eating, share our stories, and support each other on the path to healthier, happier lives. Together, we can rewrite the narrative, one mindful bite at a time.

Temitope is a mental health enthusiast, a fashion lover and a storyteller who thinks all stories are worth telling. She loves to inspire people to do what they love, follow their passions, tell their stories, and live in the moment. Connect with me on Instagram, and Twitter.

--

--