Why Emotional Support Is Important: There’s More to Cheating Than Sex

Because not all days are created equal

Teresa J Conway 🧚🏻‍♀️
The Scarlett Letter
5 min readApr 25, 2021

--

Photo by Ahmed Nishaath on Unsplash

My lover and I send each other good morning and good night texts every day. We’ve been doing that for more than two years. They look like this —

We do this every night (Screencap: Author).

We do it because we can’t roll over and give each other the kisses and hugs we don’t get at home. It also lets us know that the other one is still there, holding our emotional hand as we navigate our day. When his is late on the weekend, I know it’s because he is sleeping in. When I’m late, it’s because I’m pregnant (sorry, kidding, that can’t happen anymore, thank god, lol). When I’m late, it’s because I’m writing.

I was reading the Reddit sub r/adultery lately and was pleasantly surprised to come across this post -

I sent my AP [affair partner] my usual good morning text. Being a Saturday, I don’t expect an instant response. Life, kids, SO [significant other], etc… I checked my phone at lunch, still, no reply, message not even read yet. I send a quick message asking her if things are OK. I already knew the answer. She got back to me a few minutes later. She said she was having…

--

--