SOULFUL LIVING

On a New Sobriety We May All Need

I’m climbing (back) on this wagon.

Teresa Young
4 min readNov 2, 2021

--

I’ve been thinking about a new kind of sobriety. Calling it digital sobriety. To bring my life back to some older center.

And I’ve been working at it with some success. Then I fell off the wagon. I’m climbing back on now. Maybe you can relate.

Remembering the Before Times

There was a time though, just fifteen years ago, before I had an iPhone, iPad, Macbook or iMac. Three of which I may use at any one time these days Zooming with my private music students all over the U.S.

I credit/blame the sweetheart who’s now my husband. He started gifting me with devices when we got serious. And as a creative, A/K/A obsessive, I took to it all like an explorer to a new galaxy.

But before those big changes, I remember experiencing even more radical change. More than thirty years ago, when the Before Times ended. At least for me.

Because after my third son’s birth I stayed home for a time. I was away from office environments for five years, just mothering, composing, and making music.

How Reality Shifted Then

--

--